Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I added pecans with the brown sugar and butter and used Martin's cinnamon raisin bread. Very easy! My family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thinkpositive40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jarrettsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I make this recipe every year, the night before Easter. Easter morning I just pop it in the oven for about 1 and 1/2 hours. Everyone loves it. I also use Pepperidge Farm cinnamon raisin bread. Easter is coming, so this year I will make it again, and hear every ones oooo's and aaaahs. It's SOOOO GOOD !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Definitely a keeper!! I used challa bread for extra 'firmness' and only one can of pie filling - that worked perfectly. It was AMAZING! Super easy and even better reheated the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this for new year's day breakfast and it was a hit. I was a little concerned since I didn't let it sit overnight but baked it immediately after mixing the ingredients. I added one more egg, used a mix of milk and half and half and a few more pieces of bread. It came out beautifully although I had to bake it for about 90 minutes. It's important to let it cool so that the bottom mixture can thicken a bit. I can't wait to make this again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I followed this recipe word for word (only I cut up slices of thick maple flavored french toast), and had to double it as I was taking it to a large gathering for Christmas brunch. It did take an hour and a half to cook, but turned out phenomenal! Everyone absolutely loved it! Definitely a keeper! DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe looked really fantastic to me--easy to make, ideal for a busy morning b/c you do everything the night before but cook it, and I love apples so that addition to French toast was right up my alley. When I prepared this, I thought two cans of apples seemed like a lot but one didn't exactly cover the pan so I used two. I used Pepperidge Farm cinnamon bread and that was a great addition. It wasn't 20 slices but whatever was in a loaf completely filled my glass 9x13 to the brim (two layers of bread). Too bad I didn't account for the expanding bread when it baked and I ended up with a mess in my oven because the juices bubbled up and over. Be sure to use a taller 9x13 if you can, or put a baking sheet under to catch the overflow. It still baked through and looked great. Unfortunately, it was way too sweet, and I'm a big fan of sugar, my friends. So for me to think it's so sweet it was almost inedible is something. Because I loved the cinnamon/apple combo, I'll give this another whirl but will use thinly sliced fresh apples. The brown sugar/butter in the bottom of the pan will be plenty to sweeten those up to what I hope will be an ideal level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was great; although I did make a few changes. I used 1/2 cup butter and also added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice to the sugar mixture. I spread this on the bottom of an 9x13 dish. I then added thinly sliced apples all over this versus using the pie filling. I mixed the egg mixture as written but added a tsp of pumpkin pie spice to this as well. I used thinly sliced challah bread and dipped it in the egg mixture. I ended up with two layers of this and poured the little bit of egg on top. I sprayed the foil and in the fridge it went overnight. Straight in the oven for 60 minutes covered and then uncovered the last 10. I cooled for 5 minutes and flipped it over as I plated it. It was plenty sweet without the apple pie filling and no maple syrup either (almost too sweet). Everyone gobbled it up. I like that you can literally just throw it in the over straight from the fridge in the morning versus having to sit out like other morning casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this for a family brunch and it was a HUGE hit with the kids!!! I think they loved it because of the gooey sweetness!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I didn't have canned pie filling, so sauteed some sliced apples in a bit of maple syrup & butter... I used raisin bread & added some chunks of cream cheese in one layer. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
tasted very good but took forever to cook. 90 minutes plus sitting in a warm oven while we had a meeting. Made in a foil pan, not sure if that made it take longer. Used a combination of breads we had - artisan sourdough and cinnamon raisin. Used one can pie filling and about 2 C of thawed unsweetened frozen apple slices - plenty sweet. Agree with some others that this is way too much butter and brown sugar in the bottom. served it right out of the pan and everyone loved it. Not sure it would have held its shape if I had turned it over on the cookie sheet. Will make some changes and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States