Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is easy and delicious! Like others, I thinly sliced fresh apples and lightly sautéed them in a little bit of butter instead of using canned pie filling - they were perfect! I also used whole wheat bread (16 slices, fitting 8 to my pan and then adding a second layer of bread). I increased the eggs from 6 to 8 so that each serving had the equivalent of one whole egg. I baked it for 75 minutes to make sure it wasn't soggy. Adding real maple syrup and broiling for two minutes was a nice touch - really finished it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Easy. Used 1/2 c. Butter and 3/4 c. Brown sugar, and 1 can of apple; just squirted some syrup on at the end and boiled for 4 minutes or so. - cook for over 75 minutes - more like 1.5 hrs. If find a cherry filling with no high fructose add that with the apple - do cover with nonstick foil cos it fluffs up and may stick to foil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saira Abbasi
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious!! Made a small batch first 1/4 th of given ingredients, but later regretted not making a larger quantity cause it was finished in 10 minutes! 5 ppl ate it and loved it. Didn't have apples so used cherries, but I feel apples would be best. Will try again soon for a Sunday brunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saira Abbasi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is an easy and delicious recipe. I used day old Italian bread and cut into thin (20)slices It did not take a whole loaf, and cut the butter down to 1/2 cup. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnellon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
We liked it. Didn't have apple filling so used blueberry filling instead. Use an entire loaf of white bread and doubled the layers overlapping and distributing the slices to cover before pressing down into egg mixture. Will try adding cinnamon to the egg mixture next time. Did not invert the mixture and just scooped out of pan -- less dishes that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
We tried this and it was delicious. I only used one can of pie filling, one stick of butter, and 3/4cup brown sugar, and added some dried cranberries to the pie filling. Also omitted the syrup. It was sweet enough, with the cranberries adding just a touch of tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was awesome, I followed another review, sautéed apples in 1/2 c butter and used cinnamon raisin bread. I didn't bother with the syrup and broiling - we used syrup at the table. This was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
We like this very much. Make sure the baking dish has room for the apple/egg mixture to bubble up and expand to avoid overflow in the oven. I use cinnamon swirl bread and it is delicious! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I added pecans with the brown sugar and butter and used Martin's cinnamon raisin bread. Very easy! My family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thinkpositive40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jarrettsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I make this recipe every year, the night before Easter. Easter morning I just pop it in the oven for about 1 and 1/2 hours. Everyone loves it. I also use Pepperidge Farm cinnamon raisin bread. Easter is coming, so this year I will make it again, and hear every ones oooo's and aaaahs. It's SOOOO GOOD !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States