Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
easy recipe tastes awesome and reheats well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I LOVED this yummy french toast, and it was so easy! This was the perfect recipe for our busy family- I never have the time or energy to cook up a nice breakfast, but since this was 'make ahead', it saved me! I did change the amount of bread- I was using a smaller baking dish, so I ended up only using 8 slices of bread. I actually don't know how I could have fit 20 pieces of bread in my LARGEST baking pan, though. I also found 'no sugar added' apple pie filling, and chose that instead, after reading other reviews saying it was too sugary. It was great! My oven tends to cook a little quicker, so it only took about 50 minutes, and then 3 minutes on broil. The consistency wasn't as crispy as some people make their french toast- it was kind of a mix between bread pudding and french toast. It didn't bother anyone, though. I will DEFINITELY make this again, and maybe even try different pie filling flavors :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This the first time that I have ever written a review. I could not pass up the opportunity to tell you how great this recipe is. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
THis was so yummy. I made this for easter pitch in at my daughters school she is 8 years old. all the parents and even the kids loved it...I served with fresh fruit as a choice. all the school staff have been emailing me all year long asking for the recipe. GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have prepared this according to a few other's suggestions. I have used 1 1/2 loafs of peppridge farm cinnamon swirl bread torn into pieces, with 1 can of apple pie filling. That was my only modification of this recipe and followed all directions otherwise accordingly. It was very easy to make. Tearing bread seemed to allow the egg mixture to soak well as it appeared just a little moist/wet before I covered it overnight. I baked 1 hr, and then tried the broiler suggesting but my syrup didn't carmelize (probably because I used sugar free, didn't matter, everyone still loved it) Also, when serving, I did not flip the dish over, everyone scooped from the 9x13 pampered chef stone I baked/served it in. I am being asked to bring to future Easter brunches as everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is a decedent tasty recipe. I modified it slightly although I am sure the recipe as is works just as well. I used raisin challah bread and sliced it in 1" thick slices. I was able to fill the pan with approximately 9 slices of bread. I used only 1 can of apple pie filling. I used the recommended amount of milk and eggs, but when pouring the mixture on top of the bread I only used about 1/2. The finished product was excellent! Next time I will cut down the sweetness a bit by browning some fresh apple slices on the stove top first in lieu of the canned apples. Definitely try this recipe as you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
We liked it but we all seemed to prefer regular bread pudding to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahAbles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cecilia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Brought this to work and ended up printing out copies for many. It's a big crowd pleaser. I've done a 13x9 (1 can of apples 10-12 slices of bread), 8x8 (1/2 all ingredients 8 slices of bread, 1 can apples) and just recently a large catering pan ( 2 and a half cans of apples 20 slices of bread and double all the other ingredients) Same cooking time for all. I have had success each time. The only thing is a bit of overflow in the oven with the 8x8 dish. Thanks CALJAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The only thing I thought would be improved with this recipe, was to cut down on the sugar used. I have a sweet tooth, but this was even a little much for me. Next time I will make my own apple mixture (cooking them in butter, a touch of sugar and cinnamon) instead of the pie filling - which I thought added a lot of sugar and also made the texture of the apples softer than what I would've liked. I think overall, it is a good recipe though. I will make minor adjustments for our tastes and use the recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is delicious. Made it for a mother's day brunch and it was gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States