Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this for breakfast this morning and it was really good. I used blueberry pie filling and halved the recipe. I think next time though, I'd use fresh fruit - apples or blueberries or something - and skip the pie filling. With the butter and sugar in the bottom you really really don't need all the sugary syrupy stuff that goes with pie filling. If you must, you could likely bump up the brown sugar and butter if you're skipping the pie filling. I think fresh apples would be way better. Kids LOOOVED it as I made it though :) With fresh fruit, I'd give it a 6 ;) ****UPDATE**** As I suspected, WAY nicer with fresh apples even with the skins left on. I didn't even really up the butter and brown sugar in the bottom of the pan either, maybe just a smidge as I was measuring what was called for. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made this for Easter brunch and it was the BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very good and easy to make. Perfect to make in advance. Love the apples and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was so good! I followed another reviewer's advice and used a loaf of Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon raisin bread instead of the plain bread. Since this bread was slightly sweet, I did not add the maple syrup at the broiling stage, and we found it to be plenty sweet. Everyone loved it, and we will have it again! Thanks for the idea, Caljake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Yummy!!! I didn't even invert this on to a platter and no one noticed as they were eating it so quickly. Great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Summary: a very good special occasion breakfast but makes too much for one pan. I brought this to a breakfast casserole potluck and it was super popular, many people asked for the recipe. It was nice to have the variation with so many egg casseroles brought. I reduced both the bread and pie filling but my pan still overflowed all over my oven. Next time I will use one can of pie filling. With the bread, I will cover the pan once with slices, spread some egg, cover the pan with another layer of bread, then egg and then be done. This should take less than one loaf of bread, I think. Oh, also, I left out the milk entirely and will probably do that again. And I will put a jelly roll pan on a lower rack in the oven, just in case it spills over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe is a winner. Easy to make and everyone loves it. I usually make it for work and its great for a large crowd. So nice to make ahead the night before and cook in the morning. And its not very expensive for how many servings it has. In fact making it tonight for our xmas party tomorrow. I will pair it with some creamy potatoe ham casserole & its a complete breakfast for a big crowd. Its fail proof. try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Super easy and the family seemed to like it. No rave reviews but it was so easy I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I love this recipe! The reason for only four stars is I did make a few changes after reading the reviews. I only used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup butter. I also only used one can of apple pie filling. I used cream in place of the milk and I used cinnamon raisin bread instead of white bread. It was a great base recipe though and the result was so good! This will be part of our Christmas morning breakfast for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I had a leftover can of apple pie filling and was looking for a way to use it up. I found this recipe and halved it. It was very good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States