Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
It was good but I found it too sweet. If I was to make it again, I would either skip the butter, sugar, etc step or else I would just use apples (i.e., not pie filling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Embrun, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
The idea is delicious. When I make it, I cut up fresh apples and layer them over the butter/cinnamon mixture. I also leave out the syrup at the end. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Very good and easy. I did change some of the ingredients, 3/4 C brown sugar, 4 eggs, 1C milk, 6 pieces of pepperidge farm cinnamon bread and only 1 can of apples. My family loved it! We added some whipped cream for the top. Definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Very good, but you have to buy the right filling or you end up with a lot of goop and not a lot of apples. I used sheapards bread and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This tasted wonderful, but I was disappointed in the presentation. Probably my error, but it kind of "splatted" out, and didn't hold it's shape. I used fresh apples and cut back on the syrup. Perhaps I'll try again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spannfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA
Living In: Natchitoches, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This recipe was great!!! I did a double layer of bread, and it worked out great. There were no left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This was very good and easy. I will try fresh apples next time and more cinnamon but its really good they way it is. I just want to see if there is a difference using freash apples vs canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I had high hopes for this one. Instead of pouring the egg mixture of the bread, I dipped each piece and then placed it over the apples. I discarded the remaining egg mixture in an attempt to keep my bread from turning soggy. I removed the foil the last 15 minutes of baking and then broiled it for as long as possible without it burning. The apple mixture tasted great. The top of the bread was nice and crunchy, but again the rest of the bread was mushy. This is my 3rd French Toast casserole to try. I'm giving up and sticking to the old fashioned way of making french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This is sooo good! I made this for a breakfast party at work. Everyone loved it! I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 1/2 cans of the apple pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States