Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made this for christmas morning and was met with fabulous comments. The only thing I would do differently is soak the bread prior to putting it in the baking dish. I could not get the egg mixture to spread evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Four stars from a bona fide french toast hater! Baking it seemed to firm up that slimey milky bread in the center which made it inedible to me. Too much butter for my taste, but you don't need the maple syrup with the apple pie goo as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I don't know how this got 5 star rating. Besides that it didn't taste very good, it looked even worse. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Loved this! It came out so much better then expected, used fresh apples instead of canned and honey wheat bread, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LobsterClaws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Everyone LOVED this, including my especially picky husband. It was a sweet breakfast but delicious. I used left over homemade french bread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
YUM!!! Made this for a brunch and all of my guests went back for seconds. Used only 1 can of no sugar added apple pie filling and 12 slices of bread in a 9x13 pan. All other ingredients as listed. Wonderful addition to a brunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
We enjoyed this last Christmas --Made it Christmas Eve to bake while opening presents. On the sweet side try to lite apple pie filling or fresh tart apples. Leave uncovered for last 10 minutes or more to crisp up. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J9HALSEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Elma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very good, but turns out a little flat. I used pieces of french bread instead of slices and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was delicious!! All I got was raves. I changed the servings to 18 - used a 11X15 dish. I did not increase the brown sugar, in fact, I barely put in 1 cup. Also, I kept the apples at 2 cans. This was not too sweet. I think one of the secrets to this recipe is to make sure it is cooked long enough. I put it in for 75 minutes, covered. Came out moist, not soggy. I'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Slater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I chose it because, unlike many of the other "make ahead" french toast recipes, it truly was 100% ready to go in the morning. Just pop it in the oven. When I made it I used one can of apples, and made sure it was apples and water only--no high fructose corn syrup--to keep the recipe from being over-the-top sweet. The apples turned out so delicious, next time I probably will use two cans. I used Pepperidge Farm cinnamon raisin bread, and baked for 90 minutes. Everything else I kept exactly the same. I used a cake pan and had no problems with it boiling over. I didn't turn it upside down, and I thought it made a very nice presentation "as is" with the cinnamon swirl bread. The bread wasn't incredibly crispy, as pan fried French toast can be, but it certainly wasn't gooey either. I think using a slightly more substantial bread, like Italian or the cinnamon swirl, instead of white or French, makes a big difference. I made it for a brunch for 11 people, and everyone absolutely raved about it. It was so incredibly simple--15 minutes the night before and you're done. This will definitely become a staple in my house. Thanks for a real keeper! Note: I made this again and didn't bake it as long. Yuck! Make sure you bake it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States