Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was so delicious. I followed the recipe to a tee except I baked it right away. The advice was right to spray the aluminum foil cover because it rises. The whole family enjoyed it warm and cold. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalena Shea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I have been making this for Christmas morning breakfast for a couple of years now. Because the recipe calls for it to be made the night before, then baked in the morning makes it a perfect holiday breakfast...while its baking we are opening gifts...Simply delicious....My family looks forward to our new Christmas morning tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was great! I modified it a bit though. I used 1 can of cherry pie filling (no sugar added), 1 cup of milk, 5 eggs, and 13 slices of whole wheat bread. My kids gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
We loved it! I used whole milk and just a little less than 1 1/2 cups and regular apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
easy recipe tastes awesome and reheats well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I LOVED this yummy french toast, and it was so easy! This was the perfect recipe for our busy family- I never have the time or energy to cook up a nice breakfast, but since this was 'make ahead', it saved me! I did change the amount of bread- I was using a smaller baking dish, so I ended up only using 8 slices of bread. I actually don't know how I could have fit 20 pieces of bread in my LARGEST baking pan, though. I also found 'no sugar added' apple pie filling, and chose that instead, after reading other reviews saying it was too sugary. It was great! My oven tends to cook a little quicker, so it only took about 50 minutes, and then 3 minutes on broil. The consistency wasn't as crispy as some people make their french toast- it was kind of a mix between bread pudding and french toast. It didn't bother anyone, though. I will DEFINITELY make this again, and maybe even try different pie filling flavors :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This the first time that I have ever written a review. I could not pass up the opportunity to tell you how great this recipe is. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
THis was so yummy. I made this for easter pitch in at my daughters school she is 8 years old. all the parents and even the kids loved it...I served with fresh fruit as a choice. all the school staff have been emailing me all year long asking for the recipe. GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theoneandonlyhisdreamweaver Mo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have prepared this according to a few other's suggestions. I have used 1 1/2 loafs of peppridge farm cinnamon swirl bread torn into pieces, with 1 can of apple pie filling. That was my only modification of this recipe and followed all directions otherwise accordingly. It was very easy to make. Tearing bread seemed to allow the egg mixture to soak well as it appeared just a little moist/wet before I covered it overnight. I baked 1 hr, and then tried the broiler suggesting but my syrup didn't carmelize (probably because I used sugar free, didn't matter, everyone still loved it) Also, when serving, I did not flip the dish over, everyone scooped from the 9x13 pampered chef stone I baked/served it in. I am being asked to bring to future Easter brunches as everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is a decedent tasty recipe. I modified it slightly although I am sure the recipe as is works just as well. I used raisin challah bread and sliced it in 1" thick slices. I was able to fill the pan with approximately 9 slices of bread. I used only 1 can of apple pie filling. I used the recommended amount of milk and eggs, but when pouring the mixture on top of the bread I only used about 1/2. The finished product was excellent! Next time I will cut down the sweetness a bit by browning some fresh apple slices on the stove top first in lieu of the canned apples. Definitely try this recipe as you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States