Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Super easy and the family seemed to like it. No rave reviews but it was so easy I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I love this recipe! The reason for only four stars is I did make a few changes after reading the reviews. I only used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup butter. I also only used one can of apple pie filling. I used cream in place of the milk and I used cinnamon raisin bread instead of white bread. It was a great base recipe though and the result was so good! This will be part of our Christmas morning breakfast for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I had a leftover can of apple pie filling and was looking for a way to use it up. I found this recipe and halved it. It was very good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Delicious! It was very sweet, so I may adjust the recipe slightly next time, but my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made it with 3/4 c sugar and 1/2 c butter but I still didn't like it. It didn't seem that appealing in the picture but I had already committed to it so I tried it anyway. It doesn't look any better in person. Maybe fresh apples might help. I cooked mine for 1 hr 10 min and it wasn't soggy but it still doesn't taste wonderful like the other review claim. It was ok for those who like sweet mush for breakfast or lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I gave it 4 stars because even after baking for close to 2 hours and a trip to the broiler it still came out soggy. However, everyone requested it again so next time I'll just try a little thicker bread. I used bread that was medium dense from a local bakery and I think that was my problem. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Edible, but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BootsElven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
It took longer to cook because I had too much in the pan. I think 1 can of apple pie filling would have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Slutsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is a wonderful brunch recipe – easy preparation and good flavor. I had made it in a round pan so the presentation would be attractive but it fell apart when I inverted the pan. This is probably my fault because I didn’t let it rest long enough and my bread wasn’t as stale as I usually use for French toast so it was a little mushy despite baking it for 70 minutes. But overall, the flavor is very good, and it made a yummy Sunday morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I have made this a fewtimes and everyone just loves it! Instead of the canned pie filling, I used fresh apples (3-6), peeled and thinly sliced. I tossed those with 1/2 cup melted butter (3/4 cup leaves a soppy, greasy mess at the bottom), 3/4 cup brown sugar, and 2-3 teaspoons cinnamon. I have always been able to fit eighteen slices of bread in my 9x13 pans (three layers of six). This bakes up perfectly in 70-75 minutes. Spraying the tin foil is an absolute MUST or it will stick. This recipe will be around our house for a long, long time. It's absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States