Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I didn't have canned pie filling, so sauteed some sliced apples in a bit of maple syrup & butter... I used raisin bread & added some chunks of cream cheese in one layer. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
tasted very good but took forever to cook. 90 minutes plus sitting in a warm oven while we had a meeting. Made in a foil pan, not sure if that made it take longer. Used a combination of breads we had - artisan sourdough and cinnamon raisin. Used one can pie filling and about 2 C of thawed unsweetened frozen apple slices - plenty sweet. Agree with some others that this is way too much butter and brown sugar in the bottom. served it right out of the pan and everyone loved it. Not sure it would have held its shape if I had turned it over on the cookie sheet. Will make some changes and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this for Easter Brunch and it flew out of the casserole dish to OMG's this is so good and Yummo's! It was a great! I used Pepperidge Farms Cinnamon Swirl bread but that's the only thing I changed and it was fantastic! My grandchildren loved it and I'll be making it again and again! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dssantaniello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Good, but I agree with the reviewers who say this is almost too sweet for breakfast. It tastes more like a dessert. I used cherry pie filling since that is what I had and toasted a cinnamon swirl bread so the bread wouldn't be soggy. This worked perfectly, but I don't think the syrup or the sugar and butter mixture is necessary--unless you use fresh fruit, in which case, the bottom sugar and butter mixture would be nice. I did make sure to press the bread down into the pie filling and used tin foil on the bottom and sprayed it generously. Glad I did--some of the bread was sticking to the tinfoil. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
i used 4 eggs and 2 cups milk bc i don't like eggy french toast, and it was incredible! yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teresa
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made 2 glass pans (9 x 13) last night using 1 french loaf in each pan cut in large cubes. I used unpeeled cored sliced apples with honey and butter with a sprinkle of cinnamon for the bottom of one pan and the other I did the same to the apples except I added dried cranberries. yummmy...In the egg mixture, I put eggs, 1/2 & 1/2 cream, vanilla, cinnamon and 1 tbsp of sugar.I put bread cubes in a bowl a little at a time and poured the egg mixture over it then put it loosely on top of the apple mixture then sprinkled a tsp of sugar on the top. This morning, the family and son's friend thought it was chronic (awesome)! ;) I will definitely make this again because it is prepared all the night before then in the morning you only have to pop it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this for my Christmas brunch and it was very good! Instead of using apple pie filling I sliced 4/5 smaller apples and just used that. Came out excellent with less sugar. I also used apple oat honey bread from Wegmans instead of white bread and it was great! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkgramlich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Pleasantly surprised at this easy to prepare, bake and serve brunch entree. Simple to customize for family or friends by adding nuts to the topping, substituting fresh fruit for the canned, using any bread on hand, etc. Our crowd of 7 (all ages) raved and asked for seconds. Almost having dessert for breakfast. A new Family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Heber, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Made this for work this morning. It got rave reviews. Thanks for the recipe Caljake! Will definitely be making this again! Maybe I'll add some nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I make this every year, for either Thanksgiving or Christmas. Simple to put together, and everyone loves it. I always use a dense bread, like country white, and cut it in cubes. It makes it much easier to fit it all in the pan, and I think the milk mixture absorbs better. I never bother adding the maple syrup, I don't think it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States