Over the Top Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Yummy dinner! I did swap the jalapeño for green onions, knowing DS would not eat the peppers. Could not resist adding corn to the ground beef mix, topped the whole wad with chopped lettuce, tomatoes and avocado. And lots of cilantro :) Next time, more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
The recipe was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I used queso on top since I didn't have shredded cheese and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've never tried these with beans along with the meat. They are absolutely scruptious with olives though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I followed the other suggestions of pre-heating the chips and beans. I also added a can of seasoned diced tomatoes and sliced olives to the meat and taco seasoning. Top it with sour cream and sliced avocado and this was a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
We are huge fan of the individual nachos served in a couple of restaurants in the Dallas area so we decided to try this recipe. It is great but we tweaked it, of course. As we use the following mixture in a few dishes, I decided to use it here. I make my own pinto beans cooked for a day and a half, with whatever flavorings you enjoy adding. Besides a meat (whatever leftover I have stashed in the freezer), I add chili powder, jalapenos and paprika for a little kick. Then place in a blender and blend a couple of containers, add those to the meat mix after it is ready. Allow it to cook down to desired consistency. I always make a large amount of this mixture as we use it on tostatos also. Other than that, I follow the recipe as written and we enjoyed a 5-star winning recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHiggason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Awesome! Especially with fresh guacamoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I took the advise from some of the reviewers: Put chips in the oven to make them crispier, added taco seasoning and diced onion to the beef. After draining the beef, added the beans to heat them. Topped the chips with the mixture and heated in oven to melt the cheese. Very tasty. Thanks for sharing a simple lunch idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Yummy. I added black olives and a big dollop of sour cream. I also added a generous amount of freshly chopped tomates. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These were allright. My hubs and I agree that although decent (what nachos AREN'T good???), these were not the best nachos we've ever had. I think these would be MUCH better if covered with a prepared or homemade cheese sauce rather than melted (shredded) cheese. As is, these would have been too bland for our liking (I made several modifications to this recipe) and were WAY too dry. As many others have done, I too added a packet of (reduced-sodium) taco seasoning to my beef. I just followed the instructions printed on the back of my seasoning packet and then proceeded as directed. I also baked my nachos for 15 minutes at 350 degrees rather than broiling them (5 minutes to warm / "crisp" my chips and 10 minutes to bake). NOTE: It is NOT necessary to pre-heat your beans, especially if you use the reduced-fat variety (these seem to be less firm to begin with, IMHO). Regardless of what variety you use, the beans will melt in the oven! Tomato, green onion, cilantro, shredded lettuce, guacamole and sour cream were nice "toppers." I'll DEFINITELY make these again, but will layer with cheese sauce instead and save the shredded cheese to use as garnish. Thanks for sharing, Charlie! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States