Over the Top Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe. After reading the previous reviews, here are the changes I made; for health reasons, replaced the ground beef with ground turkey, mixed 1 pkg. of less sodium taco seasoning with browned turkey, added 1/4 cup water, 1/4 cup salsa & mixed the refried beans with the meat mixture & heat for 5 min. & spread it over warmed tortilla chips. Once baked, decorated with fresh chopped tomatoes, green onions, diced red pepper & shredded lettuce. As one reviewer suggested I used a disposable oven pan, since making it in the oven for easier clean up! Charlie, thank you so much for sharing your recipe with us all! This one is a keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferryal Lackey
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I tried this recipe and had to use some previously cooked ground pork sausage because I didn't feel like going to the store. I think the added flavor in the pork added enough seasoning that I didn't need to add the taco seasoning mentioned by other reviewers. I also mashed the beans after heating them in a pan. I grew up with Mom making them that way and I just like the texture better. This was easy and great tasting. You could also use chorizo cooked just like the ground beef. For those who like a little less seasoning then chicken could also be a substitute. Like I said it was great tasting, easy to make, and lent itself to many personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I followed the recipe for these nachos and they were good and very easy, but next time I will season the ground beef and warm the beans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Can't go wrong with nachos. Fix them how you like with toppings of your choice. I sauteed onions with ground beef and taco seasoning. I topped the chips with salsa con queso, ground beef mix, salsa and sour cream. Naughty but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I make my Nachos with 1 Lb ground beef, browned and drained/rinsed (removes more fat) and then simmered in 1/2 pack of nacho mix, re-fried beans softened with water to a medium paste and warmed in the microwave, nacho cheese sauce (Tostito's), green olives, black olives, jalapeno slices, Mexican blend shredded cheese or shredded cheddar and what ever else strikes my fancy. Layer chips on cookie sheet lined with foil, spoon on re-fried beans, nacho cheese sauce, ground beef bit of shredded cheese, olives, then a bit more of the ground beef mix, nacho sauce and a good helping of shredded cheese and finally a handful of the jalapeno's. Pop this under the broiler for a few minutes to warm and melt the cheese. Once it comes out I sometimes add salsa and sour cream on the side. Absolutely crazy how fast every one shows up knowing the nacho's are gettign made that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imchasinyou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very good recipe! I didn't use meat, but still had a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Yummy dinner! I did swap the jalapeño for green onions, knowing DS would not eat the peppers. Could not resist adding corn to the ground beef mix, topped the whole wad with chopped lettuce, tomatoes and avocado. And lots of cilantro :) Next time, more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
The recipe was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I used queso on top since I didn't have shredded cheese and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've never tried these with beans along with the meat. They are absolutely scruptious with olives though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States