Over the Fire Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I cut the recipe way down for the two of us and made just two packets. Only ingredient I didn't have was the mushrooms (but might use them next time). These came out just great. Best part was that on a hot,humid day the entire dinner was on the grill! Love it and will be making these all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is awesome! I didn't have cheddar so I used what I had at the time (Colby ) and reduced the butter by a 3rd and turn out great. This will be a go to side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe is a staple for us while camping. Little fuss, little muss! We rotate back and forth between cream of mushroom and chicken soup depending on what's grilling... HELPFUL HINT: To cook a little faster precook your potatoes, but do not slice them until you are ready to cook - this saves on propane or briquettes. Or buy the Simply Potatoes which are already pre-sliced and ready to go. Great timesaving steps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
These were a hit at my house - they got perfectly crispy and fell right off the foil, absolutely delicious - my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
My whole family liked this and my kids are picky! I actually had them on the grill on low for about 45 min to an hour and it was just about perfect but the bottom was a little crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great recipe! This was an easy way to make homemade scalloped potatoes. I made it when I had way too many lbs of potatoes and it was a great hit. I had to go and buy more potatoes to make more for the family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe! It met and exceeded my expectations as to what it would taste like. I have tried many variations of scalloped potatoes but these are at the top of my list. Definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Excellent, easy recipe. I cooked them in the oven at 400 for about 40 minutes. I let them cool for a bit and then packed them in tin foil, will reheat for camping tomorrow (I thought it would be easier to pre-cook them rather than mess around later). I would making these again to take camping or as an every day side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Awesome! I used diced red potatoes and Havarti cheese. I cooked them on direct heat on the charcoal grill about 40 minutes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I made this in a tin pan and ended up only needed 5 potatoes. I sliced the potatoes thin. Left out the butter completely as I forgot. Before serving I put more shredded cheese on top. I cooked this over a camp fire and everyone LOVED it! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States