Oven Stew with Burgundy Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
mmm, yummy!! I love this recipe just as it is, but after reading some of the reviews I may follow some of the ideas (a little more liquid, add potatoes, mushrooms, onion) I used baby carrots to cut down on chopping. This recipe freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This recipe is excellent. The beef was tender and moist, and the veggies too. I had to add a bit more water and Gravy thickener because I increased the size of the stew. This is a definite repeat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This was very good, much like what I usually make except the wine gave it a unique flavor. I added turnip, potatoes, mushrooms and pearl onions. I also doubled the water and wine. I can't believe this recipe doesn't call for garlic and I can't believe I forgot to add it, oh well, next time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
This is very easy and good. I also added a couple of potatoes. I added extra water so it wouldn't dry out and would provide extra gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This was good but I just left the stew on the stove instead of putting it in the oven (one less pan to wash) :). Maybe I'll put it in the oven next time... I also was out of thyme. I added one more cup water but probably only needed half a cup as I guess the water doesn't evaporate on top of the stove as much as it does in the oven. I also used dried low sodium beef bouillion which seemed to be fine. Finally I used red cooking wine instead of burgundy. I guess I did change the recipe but it still had a richer taste from the wine and was a change from just using beef bouillion or having a tomato base in stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This stew is excellent. Even my 12 year old son who is pretty picky loved it! I left out the celery and added potatoes and fresh mushrooms. The wine really adds a wonderful flavor. This was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This is a very good stew with a different flavor due to the mustard and the wine. I found it was melt in your mouth tender after 3 hours. I added potatoes and mushrooms and doubled the liquid. My family loves a lot of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
This is the best stew I've ever made and my husband definitely wants it back on our dinner table! I recommend doubling the recipie if you plan on feeding more than three people though. Also, I used a tbls. of prepared mustard in lieu of dry mustard and added 1 cubed baking potato. Next time I will add peas, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Ever since I visited Scotland, I've been trying to duplicate the rich, tangy stew I enjoyed there. This recipe comes very close, and is quite delicious. I cut way back on the meat and added potatoes in their place. However, I didn't add more liquid, which is a must or the stew borders on drying out. Next time I'll double the amount of veggies and triple the amount of liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Excellent--made according to recipe except tripled the gravy and spices as suggested from another review. Added mushroom caps and canned new potatoes 1/2 way through cooking time. Husband would give it 10 stars if he could--11 year old daughter thought it was the best stew she ever tasted. Served with pumpkin bread IV from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States