Oven Stew with Burgundy Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
This is very easy and good. I also added a couple of potatoes. I added extra water so it wouldn't dry out and would provide extra gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Overall, this was really good! I would agree that you would need to AT LEAST double the amounts of water and burgundy. I covered it tightly, and didn't use too big of a casserole, but it still got dried out (fortunately, it was still good!). I also added a couple of cut up potatoes. Next time I will also decrease the meat to maybe 1 or 1 1/2 pounds, and add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Ever since I visited Scotland, I've been trying to duplicate the rich, tangy stew I enjoyed there. This recipe comes very close, and is quite delicious. I cut way back on the meat and added potatoes in their place. However, I didn't add more liquid, which is a must or the stew borders on drying out. Next time I'll double the amount of veggies and triple the amount of liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Holy Cow! I don't think I am going to make Beef Stew in the crockpot again. Sooo tasty. I omitted the celery (hubby doesn't like it) doubled the water and wine (used Merlot)added 1 big can of stewed tomatoes, 4 cloves of garlic finely chopped, a half a bag of frozen green beans and 3 reg size potatoes cut up. Cooked it 2 1/2 hours then added some cold water/cornstarch mixture to thicken it up a little bit and cooked another 1/2 hour. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Excellent--made according to recipe except tripled the gravy and spices as suggested from another review. Added mushroom caps and canned new potatoes 1/2 way through cooking time. Husband would give it 10 stars if he could--11 year old daughter thought it was the best stew she ever tasted. Served with pumpkin bread IV from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Excellent conmbination of flavors, though I must admit I only used this recipe for a base for something of my own creation. I increased the amount of liquid by 3-4 times, keeping the amount of mustard and thyme the same as listed, and it tasted great to me. More thyme would probably have overwhelmed it. Also, instead of putting it in the oven, I cooked mine in the slow cooker after browning the beef on the stovetop. All in all it made for a wonderful meal, my fiance had three helpings! Served with fresh baked black bread from my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good flavor. Added an extra 1/2c wine and water, each. Though it didn't completely dry out, there was very little sauce. Added 8oz of sliced mushrooms and 2 potatoes. Used Pinot Noir wine in place of Burgundy. Will double (at least) the fluids next time, but great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
would make again, I double the wine and used beef broth instead of water and boliun also doubled. I added potatoes and put everything in crockpot when done took juice and thickend up with cornstarch. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Very tasty. Different than your average beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Ballinger Januchowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This came out great. My own touches included carmelizing half the onions, adding 3 large cloves of chopped garlic, using enough additional wine & water to cover the meat, and then thickening it towards the end with 2T flour, but those were only touches -- the basic recipe is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States