Oven Stew with Burgundy Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
mmm, yummy!! I love this recipe just as it is, but after reading some of the reviews I may follow some of the ideas (a little more liquid, add potatoes, mushrooms, onion) I used baby carrots to cut down on chopping. This recipe freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Excellent conmbination of flavors, though I must admit I only used this recipe for a base for something of my own creation. I increased the amount of liquid by 3-4 times, keeping the amount of mustard and thyme the same as listed, and it tasted great to me. More thyme would probably have overwhelmed it. Also, instead of putting it in the oven, I cooked mine in the slow cooker after browning the beef on the stovetop. All in all it made for a wonderful meal, my fiance had three helpings! Served with fresh baked black bread from my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
very good.I used baby carrots,and two bunches of green onions next time i will cut my celery in to large chunks.I would also add a large package of fresh whole mushrooms. I agree and im so glad that i doubled the wine & water and beef boul. base, which i used instead of the boul. cubes. All & all it was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
This is a very good stew recipe, but it needs more liquid. One way is to add a can of stewed tomatoes, including the juice. This gives the stew a little more flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Excellent--made according to recipe except tripled the gravy and spices as suggested from another review. Added mushroom caps and canned new potatoes 1/2 way through cooking time. Husband would give it 10 stars if he could--11 year old daughter thought it was the best stew she ever tasted. Served with pumpkin bread IV from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Ever since I visited Scotland, I've been trying to duplicate the rich, tangy stew I enjoyed there. This recipe comes very close, and is quite delicious. I cut way back on the meat and added potatoes in their place. However, I didn't add more liquid, which is a must or the stew borders on drying out. Next time I'll double the amount of veggies and triple the amount of liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This was very good, much like what I usually make except the wine gave it a unique flavor. I added turnip, potatoes, mushrooms and pearl onions. I also doubled the water and wine. I can't believe this recipe doesn't call for garlic and I can't believe I forgot to add it, oh well, next time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
This is the best stew I've ever made and my husband definitely wants it back on our dinner table! I recommend doubling the recipie if you plan on feeding more than three people though. Also, I used a tbls. of prepared mustard in lieu of dry mustard and added 1 cubed baking potato. Next time I will add peas, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This is a very good stew with a different flavor due to the mustard and the wine. I found it was melt in your mouth tender after 3 hours. I added potatoes and mushrooms and doubled the liquid. My family loves a lot of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This stew is excellent. Even my 12 year old son who is pretty picky loved it! I left out the celery and added potatoes and fresh mushrooms. The wine really adds a wonderful flavor. This was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States