Oven Stew with Burgundy Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I loved this stew! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was that it was pretty salty and I love salt. That may have been because I used cooking wine. Thanks, though, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is good stew and a nice change of flavor from our regular old stove-top (but still favorite!) recipe. Added 4 cloves of garlic for more flavor. Didn't add (baby) carrots until last 30mins or so of cooking, so they wouldn't turn into mush. Meat was oh-so tender after 3 hours, no way it neeeded 4. Liquid was just right and we ate with stroganoff noodles. Only thing else I would add is some rosemary next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I follewed the recipe exactly, other that cooking in in a crock pot on low all day. It smelled wonderful, and tasted very good too. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was awesome! 4 hours could have been cut down to 3 hours and I added a clove of pressed garlic. We ate it over egg noodles. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This stew is excellent. I cut back to 1 onion due to hubby's taste. I could see it would be short on liquid so did not add potatoes, cooked them separate and mixed in at the end. Checked oven periodically and added more water and stopped cooking by 2 1/2 hours, does not need 4 hours. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
We did not care for the taste of this at all. Loved the easy oven prep. but took less then 2 hours certainly not 4. Also needed a lot more liquid, used beef broth instead of bouilln and water and used 2-1/2 cups, maybe thats why it didn't taste good, or maybe it was the wine I used {merlot] but will stick to traditional stew recipes and use the wine in other recipes. Will defintely use the oven method again, just with a another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Overall, this was really good! I would agree that you would need to AT LEAST double the amounts of water and burgundy. I covered it tightly, and didn't use too big of a casserole, but it still got dried out (fortunately, it was still good!). I also added a couple of cut up potatoes. Next time I will also decrease the meat to maybe 1 or 1 1/2 pounds, and add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Good, but not as great as I expected from previous claims. It needs to be served over broad noodles or add quartered potatoes. Sort of a bland flavor, so we added Tobasco & Worcestirshire sauce. I would make it again, but would likely add some garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I liked this. I read the other reviews and I'd have to say that if the liquid ran out it might be because they did not cover the pan or used a pan that was too large. I used a 9 x 13 pan and it nicely held 2 #s of meat and all the other ingredients. I also used baby carrots. I did not have boullion cubes so I used one can of beef stock in place of 1 cup of water. I also used Merlot wine. I added a bag of frozen peas about 15 min. before it was done. Next time, I'd add some boiled potatoes along with the peas. I'd also add a tsp. of Gravy Master or Kitchen Bouquet for a bit of color as it was a bit "grey." I had to add a bit more thickener in the form of cold water and flour because it did not get thick with the 3 T. of flour. All in all, I liked the flavor and unlike on top of stove cooking with no lid, the flavor of the wine did not seem to evaporate so it was quite tasty. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Tasted great except all the water simmered away long before the 4 hrs was up and it turned out very salty and dry. With more water I think it would have tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States