Oven Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Best stew recipe I've tried so far. Omitted the peas and doubled the potatoes and it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is the best stew I've ever had! It definately didn't have enough liquid for me though so I doubled the amount of water. I also used all frozen veggies except the potatoes. I also used cut up marinating steak instead of the stewing beef to cut out some of the fat. I also didn't have stewed tomatos so I used canned diced and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Great recipe - thanks Jo! I used this as a starting point but I browned the beef ahead of time. Also substitued beef boulion instead of french onion soup (I'm an American in the UK and it's difficult to find certain ingrediants). I added a dash of red wine, parseley, 2 bay leaves and garlic powder, then stuck it all in the oven for 2 1/2 hours. Turned out amazing and was extremely easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made this with grass-fed beef which cooks quicker, so reduced the temp. by 50 deg. Otherwise, followed the directions exactly. It turned out perfectly!!! Whole family loved it, including my 3 and 5 year olds!! We will make this a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Just took it out of the oven and boy does this house smell wonderful! I pretty much followed the recipe but followed some other reviewers' advice about a couple of things. I mixed the onion soup with the water before pouring it in the pan and I increased the water by 1/4 cup. I added salt and pepper to the flour. I omitted the green peas and added a couple of extra potatos. Totally delicious! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I added turnip to this recipe instead of the peas, it was the best stew I have ever made. My husband and I had 2 servings each, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
i made this yesterday, I was very happy with the results! so quick, easy and tasty!! i used frozen peas and carrots about a cup and a half and this worked out great, although i still used about 3 fresh cutup carrots as well! my 18 year old vegetarian sun loved the flavour the carrots had (he picked them out of the left over stew) there was very little left over though! anyway i probably only cooked the stew at 375 for bout 45 minutes and it started to lose a lot of liquid by then everything was nicely cooked and ready to eat. so i didn't bother adding more liquid, delicious on a wet and cold night! the little bit of left over was great (even with out the carrots!) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I like the addition of the onion soup mix. I substituted corn & green beans instead of peas. I also added more water. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
So good and so easy! Why didn't someone tell me 20 years ago that you can make great stew in the oven? I made no changes except for adding peas late because I wasn't sure I was going to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarshallAlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Although browning the meat on the stove top still develops the best flavor, this high-heat oven "browning" was a great compromise, and much less messy. Thanks for sharing this technique. The instructions didn't call for it, but I covered my pan during the first 30 minutes to prevent splatters in my oven. Next time, I will probably add the salt to the flour so that the fond (browned bits) have more flavor. The recipe can easily be adjusted for whatever vegetables you have on hand/in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States