Oven Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Just took it out of the oven and boy does this house smell wonderful! I pretty much followed the recipe but followed some other reviewers' advice about a couple of things. I mixed the onion soup with the water before pouring it in the pan and I increased the water by 1/4 cup. I added salt and pepper to the flour. I omitted the green peas and added a couple of extra potatos. Totally delicious! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Although browning the meat on the stove top still develops the best flavor, this high-heat oven "browning" was a great compromise, and much less messy. Thanks for sharing this technique. The instructions didn't call for it, but I covered my pan during the first 30 minutes to prevent splatters in my oven. Next time, I will probably add the salt to the flour so that the fond (browned bits) have more flavor. The recipe can easily be adjusted for whatever vegetables you have on hand/in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
So good and so easy! Why didn't someone tell me 20 years ago that you can make great stew in the oven? I made no changes except for adding peas late because I wasn't sure I was going to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarshallAlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is very similar to the stew my mom has always made. It is a good, classic recipe. I use diced tomatoes (just a personal preference) and I also wait and add frozen peas for the last 30 minutes. Keeps them from getting mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kennedy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This stew had a lot of flavor. I didn't have a roasting pan with a lid so I just made it in a 13x9 inch backing pan and covered it with foil. Next time I make it I will add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Great recipe - thanks Jo! I used this as a starting point but I browned the beef ahead of time. Also substitued beef boulion instead of french onion soup (I'm an American in the UK and it's difficult to find certain ingrediants). I added a dash of red wine, parseley, 2 bay leaves and garlic powder, then stuck it all in the oven for 2 1/2 hours. Turned out amazing and was extremely easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I like the addition of the onion soup mix. I substituted corn & green beans instead of peas. I also added more water. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Best stew recipe I've tried so far. Omitted the peas and doubled the potatoes and it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made this with grass-fed beef which cooks quicker, so reduced the temp. by 50 deg. Otherwise, followed the directions exactly. It turned out perfectly!!! Whole family loved it, including my 3 and 5 year olds!! We will make this a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is the best stew I've ever had! It definately didn't have enough liquid for me though so I doubled the amount of water. I also used all frozen veggies except the potatoes. I also used cut up marinating steak instead of the stewing beef to cut out some of the fat. I also didn't have stewed tomatos so I used canned diced and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States