Oven Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
It's yummy and easy to make. I would try it with a can of corn added in the last 15 minutes or so as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Great recipe for a cold day...I added a couple cloves of garlic and browned the meat in oil before putting it in the casserole. I also added a half an onion, which becomes sweet in the oven. I mixed the water with the soup before pouring it over the whole thing. *one other thing* as a person with celiac sprue, I substituted 2 Tbs. of tapioca for the flour, as a thickener. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I added turnip to this recipe instead of the peas, it was the best stew I have ever made. My husband and I had 2 servings each, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Excellent meal for a cold winter day. I'm new to cooking but I could easily follow this recipe. My roommate actually begged for me to feed him when he smelt this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
i made this yesterday, I was very happy with the results! so quick, easy and tasty!! i used frozen peas and carrots about a cup and a half and this worked out great, although i still used about 3 fresh cutup carrots as well! my 18 year old vegetarian sun loved the flavour the carrots had (he picked them out of the left over stew) there was very little left over though! anyway i probably only cooked the stew at 375 for bout 45 minutes and it started to lose a lot of liquid by then everything was nicely cooked and ready to eat. so i didn't bother adding more liquid, delicious on a wet and cold night! the little bit of left over was great (even with out the carrots!) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is the best stew I've ever had! It definately didn't have enough liquid for me though so I doubled the amount of water. I also used all frozen veggies except the potatoes. I also used cut up marinating steak instead of the stewing beef to cut out some of the fat. I also didn't have stewed tomatos so I used canned diced and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made this with grass-fed beef which cooks quicker, so reduced the temp. by 50 deg. Otherwise, followed the directions exactly. It turned out perfectly!!! Whole family loved it, including my 3 and 5 year olds!! We will make this a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Best stew recipe I've tried so far. Omitted the peas and doubled the potatoes and it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I like the addition of the onion soup mix. I substituted corn & green beans instead of peas. I also added more water. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Great recipe - thanks Jo! I used this as a starting point but I browned the beef ahead of time. Also substitued beef boulion instead of french onion soup (I'm an American in the UK and it's difficult to find certain ingrediants). I added a dash of red wine, parseley, 2 bay leaves and garlic powder, then stuck it all in the oven for 2 1/2 hours. Turned out amazing and was extremely easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States