Oven-Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was so good and so easy! I used sweet potato, sweet onion, turnips, parsnips and carrots. Be sure to check it before the time because mine were done early. Use some aluminum foil to line your pan and no clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe. I tried it as it is published first. Then I tried some variations. My favorite is with small red potatoes, sweet potato, carrots, parsnips, turnips, red onion, garlic, and large red pepper strips (I had quite a bit of red pepper leftover in my crisper). I toss with olive oil, add a touch of seasoning salt and I even tried changing the taste up by using marjoram instead of thyme. Either way it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I'd never tried parsnip, celeriac, or rutabaga before, but I was curious, so I tried them. The parsnip and celeriac were excellent, but the rutabaga was too bitter. This recipe would be a 5 if it didn't contain rutabaga. Oh, and you should decrease the cooking time a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Matt made these for Thanksgiving. I grumbled and grumbled about doing something that takes so long the day of. Well, I was wrong! It was the most well received veggie dish of the day. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Very good; I made it with just potatoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wileywatermelon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
A great way to prepare and serve root vegetables, and just in time for the upcoming holidays! I did two things differently - tossed the veggies in olive oil and added some crushed red pepper flakes. This garlic and rosemary is a traditionally tasty combination, and with this recipe other combinations will also result in a success. Squash is another fine choice to add to the veggie mix. Rutabaga Tips: For those who have had rutabaga taste bitter, it is all in how to select one. Choose rutabaga that is firm/solid and heavy for its size. The skin should be free of major damage/blemishes, but the rigid scars around the top are natural. Smaller rutabagas are generally sweeter and milder. So for those who had a not-so-positive first experience with this veggie, give it another whirl! Also, keep in mind that roasting a rutabaga will bring out/intensify its flavor, whereas boiling/steaming it will dilute it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Loved the taste of this. I used what veggies I had on hand (yellow-skinned potatoes, carrots, turnip, and yam). I will certainly try again in the future with rutabaga and parsnips. Brussels Sprouts would probably be nice in the blend, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I make many variations of this, but have never used the broth before. We all liked this addition to my traditional roasted veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have only just gotten this recipe, so I'll review at a later date. This is a tip re bitter rutabaga. It's from The Victory Garden Cookbook: If turnips or rubataga are large or old, first blanch in boiling water for 4-5 minutes to remove strong or bitter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Can't miss with roasted vegetables! I used this for Thanksgiving and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States