Oven-Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Great recipe that can be adapted to your taste. I added some beets and used sweet potatoes instead of red skins. I also substituted chardonnay for the broth. I was pleasantly surprised that everything didn't turn pink from beets...just nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is a wonderful way to take advantage of the winter farmers markets. The first time I made it following the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. I've made it a few times now. I've started adding chunks of cabbage to it, the husband has asked that I make the "baked cabbage" again. Before this he didn't know he liked cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Monique Cade

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Really delicious. I was skeptical as I had never eaten parsnips or rutabagas. I didn't have potatoes or celery root, so I used parsnips, rutabagas, turnips, onions and garlic. I also used fresh thyme. It came out delicious. My daughter snarfed almost the entire recipe - I was lucky to get a few spoonfuls! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Wonderful flavor and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I used what root vegatables I had in the house, potatoes, sweet potatoes, onions, carrots. Followed the general directions but made it for two people using dried spices. Easy, quick, but does need less time to cook than in the recipe. I will definitely make again, with more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I tried this recipe a couple times and they turned out great both times. Any root vegetables are good, I particularly like sunchoke, celery, carrots, red onion and butternut squash. There is no reason to put additional vegetable broth (but I also reduced the oven time). I crushed the garlic and mixed it with the root vegetables. The veggies are sweet and tangy, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very gooood! & easy. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Whole family fought to lick the bowl. Even the little ones! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthwoodsKnit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have only just gotten this recipe, so I'll review at a later date. This is a tip re bitter rutabaga. It's from The Victory Garden Cookbook: If turnips or rubataga are large or old, first blanch in boiling water for 4-5 minutes to remove strong or bitter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very simple with great results. I served this alongside a slow cooker roast recipe from this site and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States