Oven Roasted Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I took the advice that my fellow chefs offered and did the following: I mixed about 3/4 chunked red potatoes and 1/4 baby carrots; I used garlic oil instead of olive oil; I roasted them on heavy duty foil sprayed with Pam on a cookie sheet; I added fresh garlic, salt and pepper to the marinade; I marinated the veggies for a while first in the refrigerator; I sprinkled the top with seasoned salt and fresh ground pepper before I put it in the oven; I baked it at 350 for an hour tossing halfway through. I didn't even realize that I had pulled out and opened a savory garlic and herb mixture instead of onion soup until I dumped it into the bag, but it was really good this way and worked really well with the meat I was serving. My only complaint that it was a little wet still after an hour. I might cut down on the oil next time, but I'm definitely making this all the time and experimenting with my flavors. Yum! Quick, easy and mess-free with foil. We loved this. NOTE: From now on when I make this I cook it for the first half hour at 350 degrees and then for 20 more minutes at 400 degrees. It helps to make the potatoes nice and crispy, sweetens up the carrots and helps me get dinner on the table a little bit faster. I've made this with the onion soup mix too. My husband prefers that oniony taste, but we both love any version of this. I make it all the time now. SO EASY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
The recipe is good but I use oregano, parsley, garlic, salt, and pepper this sprinkled on the potatoes instead of the onion soup is much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
768 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
These potatoes are sooo good! Instead of using a baking dish, I spread them out on a cookie sheet. They came out crispy on the outside, and cooked perfectly. Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
577 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I read a lot of the reviews and the summary was- Crunch the onions up into smaller pieces, marinade the potatoes for 1 hour +, before baking top them with seasoned salt and pepper, stir them once while cooking, bake at 350 for one hour (I cooked them for 1.5 hours they were fine)and most important cover the bottom of the pan with heavy duty foil before cooking. They turned out good, they were definatly stuck to the bottom of the pan but clean up was a snap with the foil. My husband asked me to cut them into smaller pieces so they were crispier (I cut them into 12ths), even smaller they were still not overcooked. I did not save the leftovers - others said they didn't reheat well so no leftovers. They had plenty of flavor, they were able to wait till we were ready to eat and everyone liked them, I will make them again they were very easy - great for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Great dish!!! I needed to make potatoes for a "potluck" type dinner at a friends house and came across this recipe. After reading most of the reviews, I followed some previous tips and did some of my own. I used about 4 pounds of potatoes, and cut them into large wedges instead of just halving them. Instead of the baking dish, I lined cookie sheets with foil and sprayed them with Pam. (It is an easy clean up!) I did use the onion mix, and I used the 1/3 cup oil, b/c I had doubled the potatoes. (Other reviewers found that the oil used for the amount of potatoes called for turned out too greasy) I also added a little salt and pepper, rosemary, and a dash of italian seasoning. I roasted them at 350 for a half hour and stirred them around every 15 minutes, then turned the oven up to 400 and roasted them another half hour, stirring every 15 min. They turned out perfect - crispy on the outside, a little soft on the inside, not greasy at all. My husband called them "amazing". I am going to try them again tonight using a ranch dressing packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I thought this recipe was great! Contrary to the few negative reviews I read, the onion soup mix did not burn at all, it didn't take very long to bake (I covered it with foil though - perhaps that was the difference) and it tasted wonderful! It was so easy and quick and tasted great! I would definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
When I went to try this I didn't realize I was out of dry onion soup mix and didn't feel like running to the store, so substituted one pkg. of "Hidden Valley Ranch" dry dressing mix and this was awesome! Everybody loved it. Will try it as directed next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
With some doctoring, this was excellent. We wanted a more proportionate seasoning-potato ratio so I cut mine in to eighths. Remember to adjust your cooking temp if you do this. I did 20 minutes at 450 and 20 at 350. I also lined a cookie sheet with foil, and laid a baking rack on top of that and laid the potatoes skin side down on that so that the excess oil could run off and be caught in the cookie sheet. I too thought the recipe called for too much oil. For added flavor I added garlic and fresh rosemary. I sprinkled salt, pepper and parsley flakes over them after they were laid out. I also let the potatoes marinate in the seasonings for a while before baking. The end result was very delicious and though I doctored the recipe, I still give the original 5 stars as thanks for the inspiration. We had a few left overs and I just heated them in a dry skillet the next morning for breakfast--very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
This was the worst recipe for roast potatoes I have ever tried. I have roasted potatoes for years with great success and wondered how the onion soup would keep from burning. Now I know. It burns to a crisp. I would nor recommend these. Just using olive oil sure saves on cleaning the pan and tstes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I make this recipe frequently and love it. But folks, its simple please stop rating a recipe that you have taken apart and changed to your liking. You arent helping others that are trying to see if this recipe is good for them. If you make changes.....create your own recipe on here and let that get rated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 711) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States