Oven Roasted Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Meh. These were allright. My hubs liked these much more than I did (but he loves burnt tasting food lol). As is, this was a near flop for me, but a couple much needed modifications would significantly improve the outcome. I wish I would have read a few reviews beforehand. Had I thought about it, I would have marinated my potatoes for an hour or so. This would certainly have enhanced the overall flavor as well as softened the onion bits in the soup mix (these are what burned and smelled up my kitchen - yuck!). I also would have reduced the amount of oil called for. NOTE: I learned a trick for making crisp roasted potatoes a while ago. Simply rinse your cut potatoes under cold water and dry them VERY well. This removes the excess starch clinging to them (it's the starch that prevents potatoes from crisping up). Also, be sure to roast your potatoes on a wide-rimmed baking sheet or similar dish (to allow ample room to stir) and consider moving your dish to the upper rack of your oven for at least half of the baking time (this will also help crisp your potatoes). My potatoes were not as crispy as I had hoped they'd be, but were mildly crisp after baking for 40 minutes as directed. All in all, these were OK, but nothing to write home about. Thanks anyways, Donna. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome! We got the wrong kind of soup so we ended up using ranch dip mix. It was amazing! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Hubs and I thought these were tasty but could use more flavor. Will make again. I cut each half into thirds or quarters depending on potato size. Split cook time 30" @350 & 20" @400. All were tender. Def foil. Some onions burned. Would be easy and great for a crowd. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This recipe is pretty good on it's own, but with certain modifications, it's amazing! I followed the advice of several reviews and added salt, pepper, and fresh garlic to the marinade, before leaving it in the fridge for about an hour. It really made the flavor sink in. Then I used foil on the baking sheet, because no matter what you do, the potatoes will stick (even if you use non-stick cooking spray, which I did). I added seasoned salt and pepper to the potatoes before they went in the oven. 30 minutes at 350 and then 20 minutes at 400. They turned out crispy and delicious! The onion mix DID burn a little on the edges of the pan, but DID NOT burn on the potatoes. Absolutely amazing. I will be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexandrea.towns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
One of my all time favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I make these all the time with baby red potatoes along with brussel sprouts. I use olive oil and sprinkle with minced garlic along with salt but will use the onion soup mix next time. I put them on parchment paper and don't cover them and bake them at 400 degrees. Never takes more than 1/2 hour to bake. My mouth is watering already yet I had them both last night for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
If you are looking for something fast and easy to prepare, then this recipe is just for you. I couldn't find dry onion soup mix, so I just mixed the red potatoes in some mrs. dash garlic and herb seasoning. I also quartered the potatoes like others suggested to cut down on baking time - 30 min was just enough time. The reason why I couldn't give it a perfect 5 out of 5 is because the seasoning wasn't enough - it might have been because the seasoning I used was salt free. If your mix doesn't have salt in it, then I would recommend adding some in before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I also added a clove of garlic to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly. It was really easy and the potatoes were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States