Oven Roasted Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I'm giving this 3 1/2 stars. It was good, but I thought it was a little bland. I halved the recipe but that shouldn't have mattered. I think it depends on the size of the potatoes. I used bigger ones so I actually quartered mine and they just didn't seem to have enough coating to make them flavorful. I am going to try the recipe again but use the really small ones and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is good, but I sprinkle Oregano, Salt, Blk Pepper, Curry Powder, Crushed Red Pepper, Garlic Powder, and Onion Powder instead of the dry onion soup. So flavorful this way! DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincey's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was pretty good. I added some fresh garlic and next time I will add some fresh ground pepper & salt. Took the leftovers and fried them in the morning for some breakfast potatoes, turned out pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These were tasty, but I think I will try other red potatoe recipes. Served with The Pioneer Woman My Favorite Meatloaf and The Pioneer Woman Broccoli Cheese & Cracker Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this recipe (doubled it) for a family get together yesterday and it was nearly gone and everyone was raving on how good it was and almost everyone went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Will definately make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made these for Christmas and I have been making & eating this recipe ever since!! My husband loves them and they're so quick, easy and very tasty!! Highly recommend trying just as the recipe states, unless you need to use more potatoes then simply add more oil - olive or any veggie type oil will do! Of course doubling means 2 soup mix pouches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Meh. These were allright. My hubs liked these much more than I did (but he loves burnt tasting food lol). As is, this was a near flop for me, but a couple much needed modifications would significantly improve the outcome. I wish I would have read a few reviews beforehand. Had I thought about it, I would have marinated my potatoes for an hour or so. This would certainly have enhanced the overall flavor as well as softened the onion bits in the soup mix (these are what burned and smelled up my kitchen - yuck!). I also would have reduced the amount of oil called for. NOTE: I learned a trick for making crisp roasted potatoes a while ago. Simply rinse your cut potatoes under cold water and dry them VERY well. This removes the excess starch clinging to them (it's the starch that prevents potatoes from crisping up). Also, be sure to roast your potatoes on a wide-rimmed baking sheet or similar dish (to allow ample room to stir) and consider moving your dish to the upper rack of your oven for at least half of the baking time (this will also help crisp your potatoes). My potatoes were not as crispy as I had hoped they'd be, but were mildly crisp after baking for 40 minutes as directed. All in all, these were OK, but nothing to write home about. Thanks anyways, Donna. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome! We got the wrong kind of soup so we ended up using ranch dip mix. It was amazing! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Hubs and I thought these were tasty but could use more flavor. Will make again. I cut each half into thirds or quarters depending on potato size. Split cook time 30" @350 & 20" @400. All were tender. Def foil. Some onions burned. Would be easy and great for a crowd. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Harvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States