Oven Roasted Red Potatoes and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
LOVED these! The only change I made was to use fresh instead of dried herbs. I also followed the example of some other reviewers and left the potatoes in for 30 min and then added the asparagus for the last 10. This was def. a hit with the roommate and me! I added some cherry tomoatoes in with the asparagus for some color and they were amazing with the "dressing" as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These potatoes and veggies were very tasty. Saves on the dishes. The changes I made after reading other reviews were: Used only 1 teaspoon of rosemary and one teaspoon thyme. I baked the potatoes, covered for 30 mins., added asparagus covered 5 mins and uncovered for the last 5 mins. I also added a chopped onion with the potatoes for added flavor. Nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Wow this was really a big hit! I did omit the rosemary and thyme. Will defintely make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is probably the most delicious side I've ever made. Everyone who's eaten it has loved it, and it makes my whole apartment smell great! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I did not have a lot of time to prepare this. I microwaved 2 Idaho potatoes for 5 min. then chopped them into chunks. Used the spices - cutting back on the rosemary. I cooked the potatoes for 10 minutes in the oven and then added the asparagus for another 10 minutes. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
It was good, but I did follow other reviewers and only used 1 tsp of both the rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
The taste was pretty good but this needs a lot of work. First of all 4 tsp of rosemary and thyme would be way too much. I used 1 tsp of each and that was plenty. The potatoes ended up being over cooked (they were over done at the 30 minutes when I went to add the asparagus and it's not like I cut them into small pieces or anything. I added the asparagus during the last 10 minutes of cooking and they were way over cooked too. If I try making this again then I'll probably leave out the asparagus and just make the potatoes and not use foil so that they'll be crisper. *Update* I just had the leftovers from the fridge and the flavors of the potatoes were soooo good. I normally like my potatoes hot, with the exception of potato salad, they tasted awesome cold! I will definitely try tweaking the cooking directions and still leave out the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonstar
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Please use measurable terms in your recipes! I cooked the potatoes with raw onion for 30 minutes covered, then added asparagus for 5 covered and 5 uncovered. The asparagus was perfect but the potatoes were still not fully cooked. I may have cut my "chunks" too big? Cooked for another 7 or so minutes and they were good to go, but the asparagus was a little overdone. Tasty flavors, I cut the seasonings way down (garlic, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhedde

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I like the idea of this recipe, but I think that cooking the asparagus for 20+ minutes would make them a mushy mess. Instead, I only added the asparagus for the last 8 minutes or so of cooking. I cut down on the garlic significantly. I only added enough olive oil and seasonings to coat the potatoes (and then enough olive oil to coat the asparagus). I liked this recipe, but I don't think using the cooking time as written would work. If you are interested, I created a custom version of this recipe with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
READ REVIEWS FIRST!! Ok this was delicious with changes. Luckily I read the reviews first so I reduced rosemary and thyme to 1 tsp each -which was PLENTY. I also cooked potatoes for 30 min. alone and then added the asparagus for 10 min ONLY and it came out perfect (any more cooking would have overcooked it) - so total cooking time was about 40 min. I also put garlic cloves through garlic press rather than slicing. With these changes it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States