Oven Roasted Red Potatoes and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I'm sorry I didn't read the reviews first as I usually do. I totally agree that the amount of rosemary and thyme is overkill. 1/4 - 1/2 tsp at the most would be appropriate. Also, my asparagus was overcooked by the time the potatoes were done, so as others have mentioned, definitely cook potatoes 30 mins and THEN add the asparagus. I too had to throw mine out. Husband said it felt like we were eating a sprinkling of potatoes on spices. I will try this recipe again but with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyRawesome

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe with the exception of the seasoning. I have a Italian Herb seasoning that I used in place of the rosemary and thyme. I didn't feel like going out to buy seasonings I never use. I ate 3 helpings, while my boyfriend demanded I leave him leftovers:)This paired wonderfully with grilled tri-tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this last night to go with my steak. I love potatoes and asparagus and this made a great combo. Since I halved the recipe I did use two tbs each of the thyme and rosemary, even that it smelled a little overpowering at first it turned out just perfect once cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very delicious dish. Grumpy wasn't crazy for it but I LOVED it. I did cut the thyme and rosemary down. I thought 4 tsp each would have been way too much (like many other's here). I did use all the garlic though! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by bandrs
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I love roasted potatoes and I love asparagus. I had no idea there was a recipe for cooking them together! We really like this in our house but I am a potato purist and prefer only oil, salt, and pepper. BTW, another easy method for cooking these is to toss the potatoes in the oil and seasonings, place cut side down in a big hot nonstick pan (lid on) over med/high. After 15 minutes, toss the asparagus pieces in the residual oil and seasonings. Lift the lid on the pan, turn the pieces of potato over and dump in the asparagus. Slap the lid on and finish off for another 10 minutes. I find this method to be easier than using the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I did not like asparagus until I tried this dish... I made the full amount of servings and it wasn't enough for the two of us, we kept wanting more! I used coarse sea salt, fresh rosemary, and dried thyme and when I took the foil off for the last 10 minutes, I sprinkled the top with shredded parmesan. Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Elgin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
GREAT RECIPE JUST DRIZZLED A LITTLE BUTTER ON TOP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this for my husband and my Nazi-baking neighbor. She loved it and asked for the recipe. I agree w/ others about cooking the potatoes longer before adding the asparagus. For the rest, we all season to personal taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
After my own modifications, this has earned 5 stars! I personally thought it needed a bit more color and flavor so I added 1 small onion chopped and 1 red bell pepper cut into chunks. I also thought after reading the recipe that the spices it was asking for was WAY too much, so I halved all the spices. Even my husband liked it, and he doesn't like onions or red bell peppers... he went in for 2nds!! Thank you for sharing your recipe :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMomma92607

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Awesome recipe! I had adjust since I had a prime rib in the oven, so I cooked at 325 for 90 minutes and not mushy at all. Asparagus went in for last 10 minutes only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States