Oven Roasted Red Potatoes and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Mandy
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I really loved this dish. I used fresh rosemary and thyme which helped reduce the "twiggy" factor. I also used multi-colored fingerling potatoes which added a wonderful flavor. I had to cook the potatoes significantly longer than the recipe calls for, but I am at 5000 ft so that could have something to do with it. Overall it was a simple, healthy, and flavorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe is great. I've mad rosemary potatoes before and I hadn't thought of adding asparagus to the mix before, but the flavors blend together very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was really, really good despite how much it annoyed me. Why did it annoy me? Because I don't own a metal pan big enough and I won't heat my glassware that hot, so I wound up preparing this recipe on a jellyroll pan that I covered with aluminum foil. I found it difficult to "toss" the veggies with the seasonings so I just mixed them with a spoon as best I could. My garlic blackened in places where it wasn't touching any veggies and I thought for sure it would be ruined, but it wasn't. The little black bits were actually quite tasty! I don't have kosher salt so I halved the salt quantity and that worked fine for us, you can always add more later. Thanks for the recipe, I'll use this one again! (After acquiring a 9x13 metal pan, at any rate.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by bonnim
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Will definitely use this recipe again! Halved the spices (will use full strength next time) and added a red bell pepper. Cooked at 30 minutes covered, added the red bell pepper and asparagus then cooked 5 minutes covered, then had to cook an additional 20 minutes (covered and uncovered) total in order to finish and brown the potatoes. Will probably try 45 minutes covered potatoes, add veggies, then cook 5 covered then 5 uncovered and see how that works. All in all a B+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Delicious! I added turked smoked sausage for a very filling, but low calorie and fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Potatoes were fine, the asparagus was overcooked based upon recipe. I would change the timing to better reflect proper cooking of both (potatoes a little longer/asparagus less)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This not one that I will make again. The asparagus only had the flavor of the spices and did not have any asparagus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Helena, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
The cooking directions for this recipe are confusing, need to be rewritten for better understanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was very good although I tweaked it a little, I always do. I parboiled the potatoes then baked them with the garlic and some sliced white onions for 10 minutes. I then added the asparagus and baked for another 10 minutes. I also cut way back on the herbs as they are both extremely strong. It was a very good side dish with grilled New York Steaks! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I added sliced red bell pepper when I added the asparagus, and did not have rosemary (didn't have it on hand). Otherwise, I made no changes, and this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States