Oven Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Last night was the first time I'd ever made ribs (sad, considering I've lived my whole life in Texas!). My college-aged daughter, her fiancé, a couple of their friends, and my 25-year-old son ate with us. I was tired, so I cooked dinner, then headed to bed, leaving them to put away leftovers. To my surprise, there were hardly any! I followed the suggestion to bake the ribs for a course hours instead of braising them. I also followed a couple other posted ideas...I doubled the recipe, seasoned the ribs with onion & garlic powder, herb blend, and paprika, baked them tightly covered at 300* F for 2 hours, drained off the fat, then mixed the sauce. I added 1/2 the sauce and baked covered for 30 minutes, then added remaining sauce and finished baking uncovered for about 45 minutes until they were done. I made the sauce from 2 cans cola, 2 cops low carb ketchup, not quite 1/4 cup BBQ sauce, and a couple Tablespoons of honey. I served the ribs with baked beans, broccoli slaw (added a squirt or two of honey to the pre-made dressing, corn on the cob, watermelon, and my daughter brought warm brownies with vanilla ice cream. There are few things that make me as happy as feeding a group of college kids and having no leftovers to put away!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
delicious. I ran out of ginger and used garlic instead. Worked, still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
4 stars only because of the grease that was left in the dish when finished. I had no cola bev and no ground ginger but I did have ginger beer, I also added 3-4 tbl spoons of creamy honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I gave this recipe 5 stars for the method of cooking the ribs, not the sauce. You can use any sauce you want, homemade, or store bought, but make sure to mix it with the coke. These ribs are so tender and if someone didn't know they weren't BBQ'd they wouldn't know. The ribs must be browned first, that is the key. I cooked them in the juices to keep them from drying out. I baked them a couple hours, and then removed the foil, drained them, covered them with straight BBQ sauce, and popped them back in for about half an hour. My son, who had requested them, loved them, and he was expecting BBQ'd ones. I recommend making them in a non-stick pan as they are quite messy, and the sauce can be hard to clean off. We will be making these again, it gets quite cold up here and we don't always want to go out the use the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Had this last night and we all really liked it! Next time I think I will "spice up" the sauce just a little, but overall very good and a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrisholly8228
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Simple and delicious. Browned mine on a griddle, and baked. Perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My 3 & 4 yr old kids Loved this recipe! They cleaned the bones, and they are both very picky eaters. I dry rubbed before searing with S&P, and I sautéed a chopped onion and added it to the Pepsi/ ketchup mixture. Oh, and I left out the ginger. A definite hit in my home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I rate this recipe as 6 stars. Easy to prepare, only thing different I did not have any ginger , so I added Garlic Pepper. Everybody in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Awesome recipe! Bought a rack of ribs for the grill but the weather turned out bad. This recipe saved the weekend! The only thing I did different was marinate the ribs in soy sauce and rice vinegar for 4 hours before cooking. After cooking for an hour and a half the meat was falling off the bones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This recipe was perfect for what I was looking for! I didn't have time to put them in the crock pot or to grill them. I liked that I only had to spice the ribs to my preference and then sear them for 5-10 min per side on my flat grill pan that I have for the stove. During this time, I mixed together all the ingredients as mentioned above except for the ginger (I didn't have any- I did add a dash of prepared mustard). After the searing process, I threw them in the oven wrapped in foil and placed them in a large pan. I left them in the oven for 2 hours and removed the foil for the last 10 minutes. These came out great and the meat fell off the bone. I ate them as is! My husband added his favorite Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce to them. He said this recipe is a keeper! He didn't even want to know how I cooked them...just to do it again! :) *The seasonings I used before searing was salt, pepper, garlic powder, beef rub, paprika and red pepper. Very easy to do in the oven and I was able to do things around the house while they were cooking. Perfect for a busy mom like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle1011
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States