Oven Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Yummy ribs! I spruced this recipe up quite a bit to achieve my desired results. I omitted using the oil/searing the ribs. I seasoned the ribs w/ onion/garlic powder, seasoned salt and roasted them @ 300 degrees in a pan covered tightly w/ foil for 2 hours. Then I drained off all the fat, mixed up the sauce and added honey, brown sugar, and a couple of squirts of our favorite BBQ sauce to it. I then poured ½ of that over the ribs baked it covered it and baked it for 30 min, uncovered it poured on the remaining sauce and baked uncovered at 350 degrees. They were tear away from the bone tender and extremely flavorful! With all those changes I still give credit to the recipe, it's a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I chose this recipe because I didn't have time for marinating or boiling. I wanted something quick and easy. These turned out great. I couldn't believe how tender the ribs were. The only thing I did differently was at the end, like last 20 minutes - I brushed on my favorite BBQ sauce (Stubs), and then broiled them for the last 5 minutes to get the BBQ saude baked on to them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ataylor1215

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I was very happy to find this recipe- too cold to grill outside, but my family loves barbeque ribs. This was a good how-to-cook-oven-ribs recipe and the three other ingredients were a good jumping off point for creating a very sweet and gooey barbeque sauce. I made more sauce on the stove top (ketchup, brown sugar, ginger, vinegar, worchestershire sauce, ground mustard, a little splash of coca cola) for dipping. All in all a good recipe that yields tender ribs. I will experiment with different flavors next time. *** 02/03/07 Tried this with 3 pounds of bone in chicken breasts. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satsuma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Great base recipe. I changed things due to preference - seasoned the ribs with salt, pepper, garlic, dry mustard, cumin, paprika and red pepper. My husband seared the rack of ribs on the grill for 10 minutes each side, then I put them into the oven for 2 hours wrapped in foil, removed and added sweet baby rays bbq sauce mixed with horseradish and cooked for another hour. Very easy to do in the oven and I appreciate the help because I had no idea how to prepare ribs in the house! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angellina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This recipe was so easy and the entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was a great alternative to grilling when you want barbq and it's FREEZING cold outside!! In addition to the diet coke and ketchup, I skipped the ginger, and added some brown sugar, honey mustard, worcestershire sauce, and horseradish, along with some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cajun seasonings! Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
super easy and very good, family loved it even my picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabinas Hidalgo, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I rated this "the best" because it really is if you factor in ease of preparation, tenderness and taste. I usually like to "tweak" recipes I make often and may choose to do so with this as well but the basic cooking method described (with cola base) worked beyond expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
My boyfriend, who hates bbq sauce, loved this. I am a fan of bbq sauce, and just thought that it was ok--not bad, but not knock your socks off great. I loved how easy this recipe was to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Great EASY, FAST recipe! I had about 5 1/2 lbs of meat and doubled everything and turned out great! My hubbie is a rib person and he said it was great too. I did baste some bbq sauce at the end just for a little color and flavor (I didn't think there was going to be enough flavor). Still great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States