Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I am very happy that I tried this recipe. Spectacular! It was easy to make and the outcome superseded the effort it took to prepare it. My chef friend-sister said to try it with red wine if I prepare it again to further enhance the flavor. I used white wine because I was able to purchase a small bottle for $1.39 instead of a large bottle of vermouth for almost $6.00. Oh yes, my husband loved it too. He said he felt like overeating....but he restrained. What's for lunch tomorrow...easy question to answer! I had garlic mashed potatoes with carrots to accompany. I bet parsnips would be great with this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeJay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Thanks for the great recipe! I used a 1.5 pound rump roast and cooked it for about an hour and 20 minutes. It came out perfectly. I used half the butter and subbed the difference with olive oil. After browning the meat I deglazed with the vermouth as others suggested. I still used all of the other ingredients w/ the full measurements so there was a perfect amount of gravy. Also added red potatoes and baby carrots for the last 35 minutes. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was absolutely the best pot roast I have ever eaten! I will never attempt a roast in the crockpot again! I used chuck roast. Per other reviewers, I added garlic powder to flour coating. The next time I will use less butter when browning meat. I added a couple of celery stalks and bay leaves. Carrots were added the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Excellent. I think I might try adding mushrooms next time, but great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was great and the roast came out tender. I used 1 envelope instead of 1/2 of the onion soup mix and added 4 mediums potatoes. I didn't have vermouth so I used red wine instead and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. The family gave me the thumbs up on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Made this last night and oh my gosh was it good! Very tender and well flavored. I'm not usually a fan of using canned soup but will make an exception in this case. Can't wait for leftovers tonight. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My daughter NEVER eats meat. EVER! She ate every bite of this without being coerced for forced! Delicious! I added carrots, celery, onions and a spoonful of minced garlic, as well as about a cup of chicken broth to cover the meat, as my dutch oven was way too large. It turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
The best tasting pot roast I have ever had. My family loved it and the smell is amazing. I will never make a roast any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This was excellent!!! Made no changes to the recipe other than doubling the gravy portion. Took it to a family reunion and I had none left. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this last night. My crockpot cracked after 10 years! It was the best roast I have ever made in the oven. Normally I have to use the crockpot because I dry them out in the oven. I made one change though I didn't use the packet of onion soup mix. I made my own with onion flakes, onion powder, a little organic better than bouillon beef base, garlic, parsley, and fresh ground pepper. The bouillon has a lot of sodium but you can control it by how much you use. I added a mushroom soup box to the mix which made a thick paste. Then I added red wine to the roast to deglaze and water to my spice mix to get the texture I wanted. Outstanding! I also added red potatoes, carrots, and onions in the last hour. Steamed some green beans with garlic and olive oil. Done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States