Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this the other night, and only used beef consomme because I didn't have vermouth. Everything else I followed to the letter, and it was delish!! My family said this is one that they want on the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I cooked it for only 2.5 hour and it was perfect! The hardest thing about cooking a delicious pot roast is the timing and so I'm glad I got that down. Otherwise the seasoning was spot-on for some excellent gravy!!! I did substitute beef broth for the vermouth and I skipped the butter and just did a once around with the olive oil bottle. YUMMMMMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this yesterday exactly as written, using white wine instead of vermouth. The best Pot Roast we have ever had, thanks so much for the recipe! Served with garlic mashed potatoes and boiled carrots and turnips on the side. Yumyum....certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was delicious! I did add one extra can of cream of mushroom soup, but left the rest of the ingredients the same, because I like to have a little more sauce. Turned out great. I also took Boxermom's advice and added garlic powder and seasonal all to the flour along with the pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Made this yesterday with just a couple tweeks because of what I had on hand, but basic recipe. It is amazing. It was a nice day so I had the doors open, I was mowing the lawn and about 1/3 of an acre away and could smell it cooking. A keeper for sure. You should check it periodically because I did need to add liquid. I used beef broth to keep it from going dry. I added carrots and gold potatoes. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I've been making pot roasts for over 40 years and this is the best, easiest one ever! I've seen similar recipes over the years but because I don't like cream of mushroom soup or dried onion soup mix I never tried them. With all the positive reviews I decided to give it a try... Especially since it uses dry white vermouth (the choice of Julia Child in cooking). I added a little extra water as I added potatoes and carrots the last hour and my dutch oven has a lid that doesn't fit well, so liquid evaporated. Bottom line... Delicious with the best gravy ever, and soooooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I'm making this as I type this...and my apartment smells amazing...I added raw onion, potatoes, and carrots an hour before cooking time is done, so they don't get too mushy. I tasted the sauce...and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Been making my beef & pork roasts this way for years. Only I don't brown them first and I roast them for four hours at 325 degrees for a 3 - 4 lb roast. I also use beef broth vs vermouth or wine, the onion soup mix and roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup for the beef roast and chicken broth, golden onion soup mix and cream of celery for the pork roast. The meat falls apart and is very tender & moist. The gravy is wonderful and you don't have to do a thing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I will never make another roast but this one..it was awesome great flavor this recipe is to die for. Not exaggerating..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelo Rosario

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This turned out delicious. I used white cooking wine because I didn't have any vermouth on hand, and like others I added potatoes and carrots during the last 45 minutes of cooking. The meat was so tender, my son said, "Mom, you don't even need a knife to cut this!" My other son said, "Why don't you make this all the time?!" From now on, I will!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States