Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Best pot roast I have ever made! I used a whole pkg of onion soup mix and it made the gravy a little salty but that's an easy fix for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I was never a big fan of pot roast, but made it occasionally to please my hubby. This recipe changed my mind! I don't keep vermouth in the house, so I just whip up some beef bouillon. I add a cup of it so we have extra gravy for our potatoes. I sear the roast in a Dutch oven, mix the wet ingredients together, cover, then throw it in the oven. I add the baby carrots, potatoes and onions in after a hour or so. The only complaint that I have is that the aroma fills the house and makes me salivate all afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very tasty pot roast and easy to make. I made a few changes...added Adobo seasoning, garlic powder and dried thyme to the flour, then instead of using dry vermouth I used beef broth from bouillon. I added baby carrots and quartered potatoes (they were big potatoes)about 1 1/2 hrs into cooking time. Hubby was a very happy man. Definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybodden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe tonite, and followed the recipe, except that I added 1 Tb Worcestershire sauce to the mix. After the first 2 hours, I added small peeled onions, small potatoes split in half, and half a bag of baby carrots. I cooked all this in my (Le Creuset dutch oven - just enameled cast iron). This was far better than my mother's pot roast recipe. Much more moist and flavorful. I've used her recipe for years, never much liked it, and gave up the idea of pot roast until I found this one. With the addition of the vegetables, I would have added 1 cup beef broth, because the gravy was rather thick. If cooked to the exact recipe as stated, I think this would have been wonderful. The additions I made...the Worcestershire sauce and the vegetables...took it over the top. Five stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Feltz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this recipe just before a TV football playoff game. Had not much time to assemble, but it was quick and easy. I started it on the stovetop in a cast iron pot and transferred it into the oven. I added carrots and shallots to the pot. I used an inexpensive sweet white wine. I also baked some potatoes in the same oven the last hour and a half. Yes the aroma is very inviting and the taste great. I checked the meat at about an hour and it was tough, then let it finish the three-hour baking and it could be cut with a fork. The meat was then soft and yummy. My only negative is that the soup mix adds too much salt. I would look for a low salt alternative next time. I might try doubling the liquid since it makes such a nice sauce. This was the first successful pot roast I have made. Will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
AWESOME recipe!!! I made ONE substitution ......changes the cream of mushroom to cream of asparagus.I also added celery, carrots and potatoes about 1 1/2 Hours in to the cooking time. and splashed with 1/4 cup more of Vermouth. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this for a large dinner party and everyone loved it. I did use a mix of cream of mushroom and cream of celery soups. Other than that, I followed the recipe as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I Loved it my family loved it! It's a great recipe. I did nothing different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Made exactly as stated for company and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was awesome! I made it almost exactly as listed...I didn't have any Vermouth so I used broth. It was tender, juicy and had an amazing gravy. I added potatoes and carrots the last hour. YUM This will be my new go to pot roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States