Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My first attempt at pot roast , I was a little skeptical at first... But my father In law said it tasted like his mom's. What a complement! I am totally sold on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I tried this for 20 hunters at camp in Nov. They loved it, I will be making it again for rifle season in December. The only change I made was the portion size I went a 1/2 pound per person and it still ran short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Just made it for the second time. The first time I used some of the suggestions of others browning the meat in a cast iron skillet, deglazing it with the vermouth (the aroma was heavenly!) Came out perfect! This time I used my dutch oven, browning the meat in the same pot. I added some bella mushrooms to the sauce and added red sweet potatoes, onion and carrots. I also added garlic powder to the flour mixture. It was another great success! There are so many ways to work with this recipe. Thanks for the contribution to my recipe library.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
It's a good recipe--but I think it's the wrong cut of meat. I use chuck roast instead. Because chuck roast is inherently fattier (and has more interconnective tissue), it will yield a far more tender roast the longer it cooks. Rump roast lacks that interconnective tissue that the chuck has, therefore requiring more cooking time--and it may not be enough to make it as tender as the chuck roast turns out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made pretty much according to recipe but for using cream of celery and added penzeys roast beef seasonings. Also added the vegetables the last hour. It was excellent. Great easy meal for a rainy weekend when I have time to cook all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe. I am new cook. It was easy to follow. I used wine and I cooked it in a slow cooker on a high setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I was skeptical but had to give it a try based on all the reviews. So glad I did...this was simple to prepare and absolutely delicious. Not the sodium overload I thought it would be, and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Everyone loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is now my go to recipe for pot roast. I brown it as directed but use 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter in my Le Crueset Dutch oven and add fresh onion slices and carrots for the last 45 min. I roast at 275 - 300 degrees maximum for about 3 hours. Serve it with whipped mash potatoes and a green vegetable. Leftovers are delicious over egg noodles, almost like a boeuf bourginon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I fixed this last evening in my new cast iron dutch oven and I was impressed with the pot roast and with my new oven. I made this without changes but I did add my vegetables the last hour in the oven. It makes wonderful gravy and the roast was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States