Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is "THE BEST" pot roast recipe on this site. I would give this 10+ stars, just for the smell alone while it was cooking. I mean I swear...the dog kept walking around with his nose in the air sniffing and when my husband walked thru the door he said "Oh my God, that smells incredible!" Here is what I did differently: I added seasoned salt and garlic powder to the flour/pepper mixture. I roasted the meat in the same pan that I browned it in. I did not use the wine called for. Instead I deglazed the pan with a can of undiluted beef consumme. I also added halved potatoes and carrots to the pot for the last hour. They were perfect-not mushy. I can honestly say I will never make a pot roast any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
877 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Easy. Delicious. Satisfying. After browning the meat in a Dutch oven (used this from browning and roasting) I deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup white wine. (The same wine I used instead of Vermouth.) I didn't remove the meat to deglaze. After pouring the soup mixture over the roast I poured in a can of consommé. I upped my heat to 350 after the first hour. In the last hour and 10 minutes I added red potatoes and carrots. The consommé and flour from the meat made a slightly thick and full bodied gravy that was delicious over the meat slices and vegetables. I served this with a loaf of homemade bread and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
482 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I got the thumbs up from the friends about the pot roast! I couldn't give it a 5 because I changed some stuff in it... but it's definitely 5-star quality. I used onion gravy mix instead of onion soup since that's all I had. I had no vermouth, so I used the equal amount of water. I also rubbed some powdered garlic into the meat before flouring it. I also didn't cut off the fat before cooking since it added a bit of flavor (but definitely didn't serve it). I put carrots and potatoes in with the roast 2 hours after it was already in the oven. I let it cook for a total of 5 hours (give it take 20 minutes) at 275 degrees. Very tender and pulled apart nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
391 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea LaVere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Incredible pot roast. I have made this twice so far, as a matter of fact I have a roast made with this recipe in the oven as I type this. I seasoned my flour with a teaspoon on garlic powder, a teaspoon of salt and a teaspoon on paprika. I put slits in my rump roast and added garlic like some of the others did. I also substituted cream of celery soup because the cream of mushroom always ends up tasting tinny and has a strong tapioca flavor to it and sherry in place of the vermouth. I cut 2 large turnips into quarters and sliced a bermuda onion into thick slices and arranged that around my roast before cooking. SinceI like my pot roast cooking all day, I lowered the heat to 250 degrees and cooked it for 5 hours. The end result is a tender roast with a very savory gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
It was delicious and easy! I did make a few modifications based on other's input. Once the meat was browned, I rubbed minced garlic all over. And, since I'm not a fan of cream of mushroom soup (although I love mushrooms), I used low sodium cream of celery soup and instead of the dry onion soup, I used 1 packet of dry onion with mushroom soup. I also used a zinfandel wine. Forty-five minutes before removing from the oven I added carrots. This was definitely a tops with my family. It was served with mashed potatoes, green beans and fresh baguettes. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
This is the best tasting pot roast I ever had! So moist and juicy cooked in a rich gravy sauce. I also added one can of french onion soup mix and used a dry white wine instead of dry vermouth. I added cut up carrots, red potatoes, and onions to make a complete meal. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Best pot roast recipe I ever ate! I made it with a very lean roast, a top round roast, and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe. I also made it in a crockpot instead of the oven before work, and I did pan sear it like it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Great recipe. I increased the vermouth to 1 cup, added a soup can of water and increased the heat to 350 adding carrots, potatos and fresh green beans the last hour. You can use chuck roast and it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Real good comfort food! Concerned with salt, I used low-sodium cream of mushroom soup, just a 1/3 packet of dry onion soup mix, and threw in 2 sliced yellow onions into the pot. ADD FRESH ONIONS - it results in lots of gravy and a wonderful flavor. Also, sub'd white wine for the vermouth. Start checking the roast after 2 hours to test for doneness. Love the idea of cooking pot roast in the oven (a new twist on a classic). Soooo good with mashed potatoes - enjoy! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I've never had much success with making roasts. They always end up tough and hard to cut. This recipe was so easy, and everyone in the house LOVED it and raved over it. Out of 5 people, there are no leftovers. I did what one of the reviewers recommended. I added season salt, salt and pepper and onion powder to the flour mixture. After searing all sides of the roast in the pan, I kept it in the pan and put it in the oven. I did not use wine, but a whole envelope of Lipton Onion Soup Mix and a can of beef broth. Two hours into baking, I added cut up onions, carrots and B red potatoes. Came out absolutely perfect and I'll never make a roast any other way. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksmiley39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States