Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Very good recipe. The only complaint I had was I wasn't too thrilled with the cut of meat, but that's just me being picky. Next time I will do it with a filet. Also, I used a whole packet of onion soup mix because I didn't feel like figuring out what half was, and it did end up a little salty, but you could probably counter that with the low sodium mushroom soup. Also, I was happy to have so much liquid in the pan so I could make gravy with it. Then I strained the onions and mushrooms from the soup out of the gravy (for my husband's benefit) and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I used a sirloin tip roast and it was really good. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
This is the best tasting pot roast I ever had! So moist and juicy cooked in a rich gravy sauce. I also added one can of french onion soup mix and used a dry white wine instead of dry vermouth. I added cut up carrots, red potatoes, and onions to make a complete meal. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Great recipe. I increased the vermouth to 1 cup, added a soup can of water and increased the heat to 350 adding carrots, potatos and fresh green beans the last hour. You can use chuck roast and it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I have tried this recipe several times and it always turns out great. It's also very easy. I didn't have vermouth and used white wine instead. It still turned out nicely. I also used a chuck roast. This is my standard pot roast recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
My roast turned out very tender and flavorful. The gravy was great for mashed potatoes. I didn't have any vermouth or white wine so I just added water instead and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This recipe is a keeper! I didn't know how to fix the rump roast in the freezer because they always seem to come out so dry. I tried this recipe and it is great! The meat was tender and very moist. Everyone loved it -- even my 6 year old picky-eater. Following some of the other reviews, I used the whole packet of onion soup mix and increased the dry vermouth to 3/4 cup. I also added potatoes and carrots for the last hour of baking. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
My husband swore he hated pot roast until he tried this dish. I used the garlic soup mix instead of onion and added fresh onions before cooking. He said he wants it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Sometimes when you see "simple" recipe claims, they're a little too simple and not very flavorful-----BUT NOT THIS ONE!!!! This was simple and simple DELICIOUS!!! I didn't have the white wine so I add water instead. We had dinner guest coming (not always the greatest time to try a new recipe!) and they just ranted and raved about the meat!! I served with homemade mashed potatoes and homemade yeast rolls. Oh my goodness!! They had to roll my husband away from the table!!! Great, great recipe!! Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I live in a condo and my neighbor knocked on my door to ask, "What's cooking? It smells delish!" Not only did this recipe smell and taste great, but it was easy to make -- my kind of dish. I like recipes with few ingredients and not a lot of measuring to do. This one was just that. Plus, my boyfriend went to work yesterday with leftovers, something he never does. Tastes great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States