Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
1) to me it wouldn't be a pot roast without taters and carrots, so added them about two hours into the baking and they turned out fine. 2) Used a hunk o' meat labelled simply "pot roast" without any indication of its lineage (be it rump roast, chuck, etc.) and it turned out tough and gristly. Not the recipe's fault, but next time I'll be more careful on what cut of meat goes into the roaster. 3) I'd definitely double the sauce. Most of what was there evaporated away within the hour. Plus both my husband and I are gravy-holics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I love this recipe however I always make this in a crockpot. So nice for a weekday when busy or a Sunday dinner. I follow the recipe but use the entire envelope of soup mix - no reason to waste it, right? I use water most of the time instead of the vermouth - still just as good. I add carrots and potatoes right at the beginning. No need to brown the meat - one pot cooking! Cook 8-9 hours on low. I usually add a little bit of corn starch 10 minutes prior to serving to thicken the sauce. YUM! Very good to serve with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
OMG This was delicious! We seldom eat red meat, but my husband had a craving today so I picked up a 3 1/2 lb eye of round roast, well trimmed. I messed up and didn't read the recipe closely and used red wine (Cabernet Sauvignon). I browned the beef, adding a little garlic powder and season salt with the pepper to the flour, in my cast iron dutch oven, then deglazed with half the wine, put the roast back in and poured gravy over. I used a beefy onion soup mix (whole package). After an hour I added quartered potatoes. The roast was perfectly cooked after 2 hours. Did it fall apart like a crockpot roast? No. Did you actually need a knife to cut it? Yes. But it was not dry at all! It was pretty too. My husband laughs at the idea of "presentation" being important, and even he said that was a roast that would be just pretty on the table. I probably should try it with white wine, just to be truer to the recipe, but I don't think I will because my husband said to be sure to give this recipe five stars. He also wants me to double the gravy next time and put button mushrooms in as well. I may try the idea of imbedding garlic slivers in the meat as well. But whatever I do, I will make a roast in the dutch oven again. Crockpots have their place and I make many good crockpot meals, but this roast was far superior to any I've ever made in a slow cooker. Thanks Becky Smith, for this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I have been making Pot Roast for years…always the same way with beef broth and red wine in the crock pot. I tried this recipe and it was to die for! I did not have and do not care for vermouth so I added 1/2 cup of red wine to the soups and a touch of Thyme. I also added carrots onions and potatoes. The flavor was excellent and the meat fell apart. I highly recommend this recipe!! I think I'm going to change my ways! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
MADE IN SLOW COOKER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Excellent, tender pot roast! And the smell of it cooking was enough to drive everyone crazy with anticipation. I doubled the gravy part, because my family is into gravy, but otherwise only added carrots and potatoes during the cooking. Definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this the other night, and only used beef consomme because I didn't have vermouth. Everything else I followed to the letter, and it was delish!! My family said this is one that they want on the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I cooked it for only 2.5 hour and it was perfect! The hardest thing about cooking a delicious pot roast is the timing and so I'm glad I got that down. Otherwise the seasoning was spot-on for some excellent gravy!!! I did substitute beef broth for the vermouth and I skipped the butter and just did a once around with the olive oil bottle. YUMMMMMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this yesterday exactly as written, using white wine instead of vermouth. The best Pot Roast we have ever had, thanks so much for the recipe! Served with garlic mashed potatoes and boiled carrots and turnips on the side. Yumyum....certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was delicious! I did add one extra can of cream of mushroom soup, but left the rest of the ingredients the same, because I like to have a little more sauce. Turned out great. I also took Boxermom's advice and added garlic powder and seasonal all to the flour along with the pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States