Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was great and the roast came out tender. I used 1 envelope instead of 1/2 of the onion soup mix and added 4 mediums potatoes. I didn't have vermouth so I used red wine instead and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. The family gave me the thumbs up on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Made this last night and oh my gosh was it good! Very tender and well flavored. I'm not usually a fan of using canned soup but will make an exception in this case. Can't wait for leftovers tonight. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My daughter NEVER eats meat. EVER! She ate every bite of this without being coerced for forced! Delicious! I added carrots, celery, onions and a spoonful of minced garlic, as well as about a cup of chicken broth to cover the meat, as my dutch oven was way too large. It turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
The best tasting pot roast I have ever had. My family loved it and the smell is amazing. I will never make a roast any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This was excellent!!! Made no changes to the recipe other than doubling the gravy portion. Took it to a family reunion and I had none left. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this last night. My crockpot cracked after 10 years! It was the best roast I have ever made in the oven. Normally I have to use the crockpot because I dry them out in the oven. I made one change though I didn't use the packet of onion soup mix. I made my own with onion flakes, onion powder, a little organic better than bouillon beef base, garlic, parsley, and fresh ground pepper. The bouillon has a lot of sodium but you can control it by how much you use. I added a mushroom soup box to the mix which made a thick paste. Then I added red wine to the roast to deglaze and water to my spice mix to get the texture I wanted. Outstanding! I also added red potatoes, carrots, and onions in the last hour. Steamed some green beans with garlic and olive oil. Done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Did not have to change a thing and my husband wants it every night. Comes out moist and full of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
OK, This was seriously amazing! The 'sauce' is what makes this pot roast stand apart from all the others I have made the last 20 years of my trial and error cooking adventures. the only thing I would do different the next time I make this (and I will be making this again and again) is that I will triple the sauce. Aside from that, this was the best pot roast we have ever had and by far the best I have ever made. My hubby and kids (picky eaters, ages 14, 8 and 6) absolutely loved it and wanted more 'gravy' but we were scraping the bowl clean (read to mean 'LICKING' the plates, lol) I made no changes at all, aside from adding new potatoes, carrots and a sliced onion the last hour of cooking time. The only thing I will change for next time is that I will double or triple the sauce recipe. I will probably be coming up with different ways to add this sauce to other meat recipes. It tasted amazing over roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Easy with great taste! Substituted red-wine vinegar for the vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I tried this in the slow cooker (8-hr setting). I added potatoes, celery, and carrots, plus water to cover the meat about 2/3 of the way up. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States