Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
It's a good recipe--but I think it's the wrong cut of meat. I use chuck roast instead. Because chuck roast is inherently fattier (and has more interconnective tissue), it will yield a far more tender roast the longer it cooks. Rump roast lacks that interconnective tissue that the chuck has, therefore requiring more cooking time--and it may not be enough to make it as tender as the chuck roast turns out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made pretty much according to recipe but for using cream of celery and added penzeys roast beef seasonings. Also added the vegetables the last hour. It was excellent. Great easy meal for a rainy weekend when I have time to cook all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe. I am new cook. It was easy to follow. I used wine and I cooked it in a slow cooker on a high setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I was skeptical but had to give it a try based on all the reviews. So glad I did...this was simple to prepare and absolutely delicious. Not the sodium overload I thought it would be, and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Everyone loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is now my go to recipe for pot roast. I brown it as directed but use 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter in my Le Crueset Dutch oven and add fresh onion slices and carrots for the last 45 min. I roast at 275 - 300 degrees maximum for about 3 hours. Serve it with whipped mash potatoes and a green vegetable. Leftovers are delicious over egg noodles, almost like a boeuf bourginon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I fixed this last evening in my new cast iron dutch oven and I was impressed with the pot roast and with my new oven. I made this without changes but I did add my vegetables the last hour in the oven. It makes wonderful gravy and the roast was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
1) to me it wouldn't be a pot roast without taters and carrots, so added them about two hours into the baking and they turned out fine. 2) Used a hunk o' meat labelled simply "pot roast" without any indication of its lineage (be it rump roast, chuck, etc.) and it turned out tough and gristly. Not the recipe's fault, but next time I'll be more careful on what cut of meat goes into the roaster. 3) I'd definitely double the sauce. Most of what was there evaporated away within the hour. Plus both my husband and I are gravy-holics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I love this recipe however I always make this in a crockpot. So nice for a weekday when busy or a Sunday dinner. I follow the recipe but use the entire envelope of soup mix - no reason to waste it, right? I use water most of the time instead of the vermouth - still just as good. I add carrots and potatoes right at the beginning. No need to brown the meat - one pot cooking! Cook 8-9 hours on low. I usually add a little bit of corn starch 10 minutes prior to serving to thicken the sauce. YUM! Very good to serve with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
OMG This was delicious! We seldom eat red meat, but my husband had a craving today so I picked up a 3 1/2 lb eye of round roast, well trimmed. I messed up and didn't read the recipe closely and used red wine (Cabernet Sauvignon). I browned the beef, adding a little garlic powder and season salt with the pepper to the flour, in my cast iron dutch oven, then deglazed with half the wine, put the roast back in and poured gravy over. I used a beefy onion soup mix (whole package). After an hour I added quartered potatoes. The roast was perfectly cooked after 2 hours. Did it fall apart like a crockpot roast? No. Did you actually need a knife to cut it? Yes. But it was not dry at all! It was pretty too. My husband laughs at the idea of "presentation" being important, and even he said that was a roast that would be just pretty on the table. I probably should try it with white wine, just to be truer to the recipe, but I don't think I will because my husband said to be sure to give this recipe five stars. He also wants me to double the gravy next time and put button mushrooms in as well. I may try the idea of imbedding garlic slivers in the meat as well. But whatever I do, I will make a roast in the dutch oven again. Crockpots have their place and I make many good crockpot meals, but this roast was far superior to any I've ever made in a slow cooker. Thanks Becky Smith, for this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States