Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was delicious! I did add one extra can of cream of mushroom soup, but left the rest of the ingredients the same, because I like to have a little more sauce. Turned out great. I also took Boxermom's advice and added garlic powder and seasonal all to the flour along with the pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Made this yesterday with just a couple tweeks because of what I had on hand, but basic recipe. It is amazing. It was a nice day so I had the doors open, I was mowing the lawn and about 1/3 of an acre away and could smell it cooking. A keeper for sure. You should check it periodically because I did need to add liquid. I used beef broth to keep it from going dry. I added carrots and gold potatoes. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I've been making pot roasts for over 40 years and this is the best, easiest one ever! I've seen similar recipes over the years but because I don't like cream of mushroom soup or dried onion soup mix I never tried them. With all the positive reviews I decided to give it a try... Especially since it uses dry white vermouth (the choice of Julia Child in cooking). I added a little extra water as I added potatoes and carrots the last hour and my dutch oven has a lid that doesn't fit well, so liquid evaporated. Bottom line... Delicious with the best gravy ever, and soooooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I'm making this as I type this...and my apartment smells amazing...I added raw onion, potatoes, and carrots an hour before cooking time is done, so they don't get too mushy. I tasted the sauce...and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Been making my beef & pork roasts this way for years. Only I don't brown them first and I roast them for four hours at 325 degrees for a 3 - 4 lb roast. I also use beef broth vs vermouth or wine, the onion soup mix and roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup for the beef roast and chicken broth, golden onion soup mix and cream of celery for the pork roast. The meat falls apart and is very tender & moist. The gravy is wonderful and you don't have to do a thing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I will never make another roast but this one..it was awesome great flavor this recipe is to die for. Not exaggerating..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This turned out delicious. I used white cooking wine because I didn't have any vermouth on hand, and like others I added potatoes and carrots during the last 45 minutes of cooking. The meat was so tender, my son said, "Mom, you don't even need a knife to cut this!" My other son said, "Why don't you make this all the time?!" From now on, I will!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Made this today and my husband said it was the best, which pleased me because he is very fussy about his food. I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
It's too much butter and you can get a better brown with just a little oil after you dredge the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newt777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My mom has made a very similar recipe for 40 years - still my favorite to make! We do not brown the roast. Put it in the pot (a flat chuck roast works great), drizzle some Heinz 57 steak sauce on top (3-4 Tbs), sprinkle on 1 pkg of onion soup mix, and mix 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup with about 1/2 can of water (I'll have to try it with the vermouth) - pour it over top of the roast. Cover and put in a 350 oven for 1 hour, then reduce to 275 for 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 hours. You may want to slide a foil-lined cookie sheet onto the lower rack of the oven when you start, in case the liquid boils over. Best gravy ever! Makes great hot beef sands with mashed potatoes and cover the whole thing with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States