Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by alexgrrl
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Absolutely love the sauce for this recipe! I used Merlot instead of vermouth, which worked out really nicely. I added carrots, potatoes and onions in for the last hour and 15 mins and this caused me to need to add some beef stock for more liquid but it came out great. Next time I'll be using this same recipe in the crock pot though because the roast just wasn't as tender as I would have liked. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I didn't have the condensed soup or vermouth so I just used two cups of beef broth instead. It was still amazing. We couldn't stop eating. My husband went to put barbeque sauce on his piece of roast (he's not a big roast fan) but my daughter made him try it without the sauce first. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Kramer Geyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was wonderful! My guests were late and I left this in the oven at 300 degrees for an extra 2 hours! No problem! Lots of gravy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Siler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Oh SO delicious! I've been making pot roast for years, but had never used cream of mushroom soup before. This recipe caught my eye, and wow, I'm so glad I tried it. The cream of mushroom soup thickened the gravy and geve it a wonderful richness. I don't think I will now ever make pot roast again without the mushroom soup! I'm sure the recipe would be wonderful as written, but since I'd already bought vegetables and red wine which I'd planned to use before I discovered this recipe, I modified the recipe slightly as follows: 1) I seasoned the chuck roast with salt, pepper and garlic powder 2) I dredged the meat in flour. 3) I seared the meat over medium high heat in my dutch oven. 4) I took the meat out, and then browned a bunch of large chopped carrots, onions, celery and red potatoes. 5) I deglazed the pan with about 1/2 cup of red wine. 6) then I whisked in the can of mushroom soup, the packet of onion soup, and about 2 cups of beef broth, and stirred it until the sauce was smooth. I tossed in a few rosemary sprigs and a few bay leaves. 7) Put the meat and the vegetable back in the pot. 8) I cooked this about 1 hour at 325, and then lowered the heat to 250 and cooked for another 4 hours or so. Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Family loved this! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lali418
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
It was so delicious I added potatoes and carrots even my children ate it all and they are picky! Will make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was delicious. Made it almost exactly as the recipe called for. I did not have dry vermouth or even dry wine... but I tossed in what wine I did have! The roast was moist and delicious, and the gravy was amazing. My husband thought it rivaled our annual Christmas roast- and that is always a much more expensive cut of beef! I will be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I cooked this for the fam. Was looking for a quick and easy pot roast. This is a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Fagundes Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This recipe is worth making! The gravy is delicious. I made this exactly as stated but doubled the gravy portion. Yum! We will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This came out so delicious! I subbed chicken broth for the white wine. After an hour I added carrots and potatoes, and sprinkled some salt on them. At the end I put in the broiler for a couple of minutes. SO good! The meat was so tender, the veggies perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States