Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Simple and amazing recipe, I will never cook a roast in a crock pot again! I was out of the dry onion mix so substituted a pot roast seasoning mix & used dry brown gravy mix. I also added potatoes and carrots per request to the roast during the last hour of baking. Making a second time today & doing 2 roasts because it was so good there was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Made this with my new dutch oven - fabulous pot roast. Best i've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I used a chuck roast instead of the rump roast. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I was amazed at how delicious this was. I was a little skeptical because of the strong Vermouth, but after baking it added the perfect flavor. I add 4 springs of rosemary to it and it's absolutely perfect. I gave some leftovers to a friend and she said she absolutely loved it! I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Outstanding! I used golden mushroom soup instead of mushroom and red wine instead of the vermouth. And I cooked it for 5 hours at 275, adding cut up potatoes and carrots the last two hours. The gravy was thick and tasty and the meat was very tender! Probably the best pot roast I've ever made! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was hands-down the best Pot Roast recipe I've found. I used a rump roast which turned out so perfectly tender and favorable. The gravy from the pot was the best addition to an already delicious meat. I wouldn't change a thing and I'll be cooking it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Easiest, tender and tasty recipe for Pot Roast. I use the onion soup mix recipe from mamakittyto3 on this site. My husband has celiac disease so I use gluten free all purpose flour, gluten free cream of mushroom soup mix and GF beef bouillion in the onion soup mix. I sub either chardonnay or dry sherry for the vermouth and as others have noted, I usually throw in an extra 1/2 cup along with another tsp. of beef bouillion or an extra 1/2 cup of beef stock if I have it on hand. I also add celery, carrots, onion and potatoes immediately and have had no consistency problem. I've done it a 325 for 3 hours or 275 for 5 hours and don't notice a difference. A nice gravy results and it's always been a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My family loved this delicious pot roast! It was juicy and melt in your mouth tender! It was simple to prepare and the whole house smelled wonderful while it was cooking. This is definitely my favorite roast recipe. I made it exactly like the instructions. I will never make pot roast in a slow cooker again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lowery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alexgrrl
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Absolutely love the sauce for this recipe! I used Merlot instead of vermouth, which worked out really nicely. I added carrots, potatoes and onions in for the last hour and 15 mins and this caused me to need to add some beef stock for more liquid but it came out great. Next time I'll be using this same recipe in the crock pot though because the roast just wasn't as tender as I would have liked. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I didn't have the condensed soup or vermouth so I just used two cups of beef broth instead. It was still amazing. We couldn't stop eating. My husband went to put barbeque sauce on his piece of roast (he's not a big roast fan) but my daughter made him try it without the sauce first. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Kramer Geyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States