Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This came out so delicious! I subbed chicken broth for the white wine. After an hour I added carrots and potatoes, and sprinkled some salt on them. At the end I put in the broiler for a couple of minutes. SO good! The meat was so tender, the veggies perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Why do people insist on changing the recipe and then criticizing how it turned out? Folks the least you can do is try it the way it is written the first time. Personally I think this sounds like it would be great but since I roast my vegetables separately, I would not dream of critizing the original recipe as written. Try it, you might just like it very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Super easy and delish! Makes a fantastic dinner for a family of hungry boys :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This pot roast is delicious! My husband said it's one of the best meals I ever made! I did make a few changes based on other's reviews and what I had in the house. I added seasoned salt to the flour mixture, used cream of celery soup instead of mushroom, and used water instead of vermouth. I also cooked it for 5 hours at 275 and it came out fork tender and delicious! Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe was easy to make and so delicious! I substituted red vermouth for the white and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet LoFurno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Delicious! I did not have vermouth so instead i substituted it with Sherry cooking wine. I used the entire envelope of the onion soup mix. I sauteed onions, celery, with the beef after browning it. And I added a 1/2 cup of beef broth. I then added the carrots, potatoes, and mushroom, at the two hour cooking mark. This pot roast came out soooo tender and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this for My husband and best friends and they loved this, this is a must rebook as is.... This is by far the best pot roast I have ever had, sending this to my sisters and mom... WOW!!!! Amazing!!!,?.. Husband said to tell you thank you!!!.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Cary Kuykendall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
The only change was the soup. I only had cream of onion on hand.I cooked the roast a bit too long. Next time I'll cook 1 1/2 hours. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 ft. Cutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This was by far the best pot roast I've ever made. Only added two onions sautéed after browning the meat and threw in a bunch of garlic cloves (to your taste). Also added a can of drained mushrooms to the mix and baked 4 hours at 325. Perfectly tender, fantastic gravy! Served with mashed potatoes and peas. I did not use the butter or flour. Just some oil to brown the meat and onions. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was delicious! Used it to impress the inlaws and I think it did the trick! Only thing I did different was use beef stock instead of vermouth and it still turned out wonderful! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States