Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is NOT PotRoast,,THIS is Pot Roast! Ingredients Edit and Save Original recipe makes 12 servingsChange Servings 1/2 cup all-purpose flour ground black pepper to taste 3 1/2 pounds rump roast 1/4 cup butter 1 chopped up onion 2 or 3 sliced potatoes several carrots sliced up 2 bay leaves or more to taste 1 Cup of Water Directions 1.Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). 2.In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour and black pepper to taste. Dredge the rump roast in the flour and cover evenly. Shake off excess. 3.In a large pot over medium/high heat, melt the butter and brown the roast on all sides. Place in a 4 quart casserole dish with lid and the cup of water. 5.Cover and bake in preheated oven for 3 hours or until desired doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
By far the best pot roast! I made a couple of changes: Used beef chuck instead of romp roast, didn't add the vermouth and doubled the onion dip and cream of mushroom because my family likes a lot of gravy. I also cooked it for 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat's Recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made this tonight and it was really delicious!! My hubby loved it and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe! However it did cook faster than the recipe calls for. I cooked it at 300 degrees in the Dutch oven I browned it in and it was 180 degrees after only 1 hour! I also used a chuck roast instead of a rump roast. Flavors are great though and I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Exactly how pot roast should taste! Used beef broth instead of vermouth and recipe came out fabulously! This is a keeper. Thank you for taking the time to share!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Will not make again. I had a lot of hope that this would be wonderful, however, it turned out very dry. Gravy was good but that's where it ended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The gravy is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very easy! I did this one in a large dutch oven so it could go right into the oven from the stove top. I didn't have onion soup mix or vermouth on hand so I used a whole fresh chopped onion and tossed in 4 whole garlic cloves and a bay leaf. I also used a dry red wine and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Well this was fantastic. Mine was done in 2.5 hours, but I used chuck roast. I took one reviewers suggestion and added onions. Because my kids don't like chunky gravy, I used the immersion blender (because of the onions) it and made a delicious gravy. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States