Oven Pancake with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kitchee
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Delicious! Baked up beautifully. Light and fluffy with a nice mild taste. That taste is what makes this recipe wonderfully versatile. It's just as yummy with maple syrup as it is with a little apple jelly or jam or bacon and sausages on the side. There is no need to add sugar to this, whatever condiment you choose adds all the sweetness you'll want. This is also such a simple breakfast to whip together, it's great for kids or company. I submitted a photo I hope gets used so other cooks can see how nicely it turns out :)Thank you Earlene, this one's a keeper!**EDIT Nov 1, 2010** I had to add this. I see the reviews where some are complaining this recipe is too "eggy." People, there are 6 eggs called for in this recipe, what did you think it was going to be like? I can only assume that maybe some reviewers are not as familiar with baking and cooking than others. I stand by my original review, this recipe is a staple in my house, breakfast, lunch, dinner~ whenever the mood strikes me to make it, which is often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This recipe is so tasty and easy to prepare. I get requests to make this everytime my parents come to visit. I use a can of apple pie filling instead of the apple and the pancake comes out perfect every time!! Cyndie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
I used small apples so I cut up 3 of them. Added a Tbls of sugar and and a pinch of cinammon to apples while they were cooking in the pan. Also added a tbls of sugar and a pinch of cinammon to the batter. This was a very good recipe the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
this stuff is so bangin'!!! oooh its the bomb diggety!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Delicious! I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tbsp brown sugar and a pinch of salt to the batter. I also sliced the apples very thinly so they cooked quicker. Next time, I will double the amount of apple - that's the best part! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
very tasty! I cut the recipe in half, since there were only two of us, and also made the following adjustments: -used scant 1/2 c. whole wheat flour topped off with cracked wheat for a healthier pancake. -added cinnamon. -used peaches (without pre-browning, just right in the batter) since they're in season. I'd like to try some berries also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I didn't have apples, so I used frozen berries instead. I used 3 cups which was a bit too much, will use 2 cups next time. I also added some vanilla to the batter (I didn't measure it) and we topped the pancake with whipped cream. It was VERY good. We ate it for dinner, but it felt like it should have been a dessert. I also put this into a recipe calorie counter and the calories and fat were surprisingly low. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I was disappointed....I followed this recipe to a tee. It had way too many eggs and it turned out like a quiche, not a pancake substance at all. I'll have to try it with less eggs, maybe that will help. My husband seemed to like it, but I will definately add more apples and less eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bechtelsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
My kids love this recipe! I use a loaf pan and add sugar and cinnamon to tart apples. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is a very good recipe. When I first read it I almost didn't make it but it turned out soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hardin, Montana, USA
Living In: Willis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States