Oven Pancake with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Like another reviewer, I love having the apples cooking while preheating the skillet. I have made an almost exact recipe for years and I came looking for the oven temperature. The recipe that I have calls for 4 Granny Smith apples. Which improves the "apple" taste. My recipe does not call for sugar or cinnamon on the apples, either. The recipe that I have calls for a brief stir of the batter - it is not smooth, but lumpy. When the batter is added to the hot pan, you shake the pan to settle the batter into the apples. And the apples float. At the end, the recipe I have calls for cinnamon sugar topping (1 cup sugar, 2 T cinnamon, mixed) sprinkled (poured) over the top (which is cracked) and then a 1/2 cup melted butter is poured over the sugar. Than the topping is placed back in the oven to melt the sugar topping. Today, I tried my recipe and used 2 Fuji apples and 2 Granny Smith --- this is not a good idea because the Fujis are way too juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
My pancake turned out kind of dry and flat. We ate it and it had a nice apple taste but something was not quite right with this recipe. I was expecting a nice fluffy pancake. I am not sure if I will make it again because I don't like to waste food. I rate this a 4 because my family ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I love that you use the oven while it's preheating to heat the butter and apples. So easy to mix the remaining ingredients in the blender and make a fun weekend breakfast so quickly & eaasily. I did add about 2 Tbsp of brown suger, a tsp of cinammon and a tsp of vanilla for extra flavor though. My family loved it and we'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I like the base of this recipe but 1 apple is not enough. I make it with 2 apples and fresh raspberries, blackberries, strawberries, blueberries and, sometimes, a banana. I am sure you could use frozen or can fruit as well. I have tasted it with canned red plums and it was yummy. In all, I use about 5 cups of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
this turned out awesome....i dont have a cast iron skillet so i just used a regular one but it didnt seem to effect the outcome of the recipe. I made a few changes, just added a little cinnamon, sugar and vanilla to the batter. My boyfriend thought it was weird/gross but quickly changed his tune after trying it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skamer23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevensville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Excellent! I've made this several times as written. I've also made it and increased the apples and added brown sugar to the apple mixture. You just can't mess this one up, no matter what you do. So easy and so good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I'm sure it's delicious when it works out, but I followed the recipe to the letter and it ended up like apple quiche, which if you've ever tried, is not delicious. I'll retry soon though, hopefully with better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Hi, it's me Casserroo. My husband and I just finished eating this for dinner. We enjoyed it alot. We thought it was delicious. Here is what I did with the recipe. I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, a tsp of cinamon and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the batter. I did this because I used very tart granny smith apples. I think next time I will try mixing the batter with my electric mixer instead of using the blender. The batter did not fluff up as much as it should have. We will be eating the other half for breakfast in the morning. Thank you for the delicious dinner and breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I added a little brown sugar and cinnamon with the apples. It is just so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Hubby said to make this again. I added cinnamon like one of the other reviewers. The syrup made it sweet enough but I think I'll add some sweetner to the custard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States