Oven Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I increased recipe by 1/2 and baked in 13x 9 pan. I increased eggs to 14, used 1 cup milk, 1/2 cup half half,3 cups frozen shredded potatoes and about 3 cups shredded sharp cheddar. Instead of ham, I cooked a pound of bacon and crumbled it and did not completely drain the grease. I also chopped a green pepper and vidalia onion and lightly sauteed in butter. I think I used about 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and pepper. I generously buttered the 13 x 9 pan before adding ingredients - I covered and refrigerated overnight. Then took out of refrigerator about 20 minutes before cooking it. Everyone raved about it - I think sauteed mushrooms would also be good as would drained chili peppers. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My family loves this recipe! I made it more like a western/southwest omelet with lots of sauteed veggies like green pepper, onion and zucchini, and salsa. I also used sharp cheddar cheese and added some hot pepper cheese to spice it up. It's a great basic recipe to start with, and then you can add whatever your family likes. My daughter requests this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I read all the reviews and decided to sautee 1/4 onion , 1/3 each of green and red peppers and added red pepper flakes. I baked it in a 9 X 13 pan for about 30 mins or so. Might try making it with pepper jack cheese with salsa on the side. Can't wait to try this with sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Excellent breakfast! Can be made and baked the night before and reheated in the morning--perfect for company if you know you'll be rushed in the morning. (I've also made it with 1 cup bacon bits for the meat--very good.) I did add sauteed onion and garlic to it and baked about 10 min. longer. Served with English muffins and jam--tastey! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Nice basic recipe. I made this for dinner so I added chopped onion, chopped red pepper, more cheeses (a combo of a few) & a few dashes of hot sauce. I used a 9x13 pan...so used 11 eggs, 2.5 cups of hash browns, 1.5 c. milk & extra of all the rest of ingreds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellent base. I don't eat ham so omit the meat, add drained spinach or broccoli to the dish and if I have them fresh tomatoes and a touch of basil. Makes a fantastic Summer Dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Syrotiak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Made this late at night & it was EASY and tasty! I was too lazy to put in fresh onions and garlic so used powder and it turned out great as a dinner (strong breath for breakfast!). I don't think there is many ways to mess this one up. Personally, I should have used more ham but it is great for one's own preference. Also, I just peeled potatoes and it only took 1 hour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Very quick and easy. Next time I might add green peppers and mushrooms. It's like a potato quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
My hubby gets the credit for this one. Not only did I get to sleep in this morning, I woke up to the fabulous smell of this in the oven! He made a few changes though. Used a garlic onion cheese we had in the frig that really helped flavour it up some and used spinach instead of potatos.... plus used more eggs and more milk to make it bigger! Nice and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This was good took much longer to cook and i raised temp to 400 after 45min. Outside was dry inside perfect maybe using a thiner pan might cook more evenly. Less hashbrowns would be better in my opinion add some onion or peppers for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Paleo Omelet Muffins

See how to make the perfect paleo-friendly, grab-and-go breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States