Oven Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Good, but the sugar needs to be reduced to 3 tablespoons, and I prefer brown to white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These were very good. Exactly what I expected. Sweet and tangy. I will make them again and expirament a bit by using brown sugar instead of white. I did bake them quite a bit longer because I wanted the sauce to get extra thick. Next time I will either use a little more corn starch or a little less water to get the sauce to more of a glaze consistency quicker. My 15mo old loved them as well. I used another meatball recipe from this website so that the meatballs weren't just plain hamburger...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
VERY sweet...I used half the sugar required and it was still a bit too much sweetness. But, a very easy-to-make recipe and an interesting variation to the usual sweet/sour or regular meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Yummy! Loved how the tops of the meatballs turned golden brown in the oven - I made sure to drench them in sauce every few mintues so the tops didn't dry out. Added just a bit of honey as well to my sauce for added thickness...very good, will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLM584

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I will be cooking this for the second time this evening, my 3 year old couldn't get enough and she is a infuriatingly picky eater. Only 1 change, and I did this the first time: replace the soy sauce with balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
My husband and kids could not get enough of this! It was great. I was in a hurry and used frozen meatballs--still turned out great. I also used brown sugar instead of white. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This sauce is delicious. I tried it with meatballs and lit'l smokies and plan to try it with others as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I'm glad I read the other reviews, as I'm pretty sure it would have been WAY too sweet if I'd put all that sugar in it! I reduced the sugar to 2 tbsp and used dark brown sugar. I subbed flour for cornstarch just because I didn't have any cornstarch, and I used apple cider vinegar for "vinegar." I threw Ikea frozen meatballs in it and baked them for about 20 minutes at 450 (although I probably could have done 15 if my oven told me when it was preheated). It was the perfect amount of sauce for 1 bag of Ikea meatballs. :) This recipe was really a great jumping off point, though! I think that the soy sauce, mustard, apple cider vinegar, and dark brown sugar really made it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peeps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great recipe for sure! I did alter it just a bit though... I followed the other reviews and added about a 1/4 C of brown sugar and that worked great. I used apple cider vinegar and I did add just a little seasoned salt to the meat. Oh, and I used buffalo meat instead of ground beef and that worked out great, too. I noticed I omitted the salt-- didn't need any, I thought! And I did add about 1/2 C of instant wild rice to the meat as well. My 2 1/2 year old son loved them- wanted more! Will definitely make again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarief

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My family loved these meatballs! I even had requests to make them twice in the same week. I had read the reviews and cut back on the sugar, but other than that followed the recipe. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States