Oven Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Good, but the sugar needs to be reduced to 3 tablespoons, and I prefer brown to white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These were very good. Exactly what I expected. Sweet and tangy. I will make them again and expirament a bit by using brown sugar instead of white. I did bake them quite a bit longer because I wanted the sauce to get extra thick. Next time I will either use a little more corn starch or a little less water to get the sauce to more of a glaze consistency quicker. My 15mo old loved them as well. I used another meatball recipe from this website so that the meatballs weren't just plain hamburger...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
VERY sweet...I used half the sugar required and it was still a bit too much sweetness. But, a very easy-to-make recipe and an interesting variation to the usual sweet/sour or regular meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Yummy! Loved how the tops of the meatballs turned golden brown in the oven - I made sure to drench them in sauce every few mintues so the tops didn't dry out. Added just a bit of honey as well to my sauce for added thickness...very good, will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLM584

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I will be cooking this for the second time this evening, my 3 year old couldn't get enough and she is a infuriatingly picky eater. Only 1 change, and I did this the first time: replace the soy sauce with balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
My husband and kids could not get enough of this! It was great. I was in a hurry and used frozen meatballs--still turned out great. I also used brown sugar instead of white. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This sauce is delicious. I tried it with meatballs and lit'l smokies and plan to try it with others as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I'm glad I read the other reviews, as I'm pretty sure it would have been WAY too sweet if I'd put all that sugar in it! I reduced the sugar to 2 tbsp and used dark brown sugar. I subbed flour for cornstarch just because I didn't have any cornstarch, and I used apple cider vinegar for "vinegar." I threw Ikea frozen meatballs in it and baked them for about 20 minutes at 450 (although I probably could have done 15 if my oven told me when it was preheated). It was the perfect amount of sauce for 1 bag of Ikea meatballs. :) This recipe was really a great jumping off point, though! I think that the soy sauce, mustard, apple cider vinegar, and dark brown sugar really made it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peeps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great recipe for sure! I did alter it just a bit though... I followed the other reviews and added about a 1/4 C of brown sugar and that worked great. I used apple cider vinegar and I did add just a little seasoned salt to the meat. Oh, and I used buffalo meat instead of ground beef and that worked out great, too. I noticed I omitted the salt-- didn't need any, I thought! And I did add about 1/2 C of instant wild rice to the meat as well. My 2 1/2 year old son loved them- wanted more! Will definitely make again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarief

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My family loved these meatballs! I even had requests to make them twice in the same week. I had read the reviews and cut back on the sugar, but other than that followed the recipe. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States