Oven Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
VERY sweet...I used half the sugar required and it was still a bit too much sweetness. But, a very easy-to-make recipe and an interesting variation to the usual sweet/sour or regular meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Good, but the sugar needs to be reduced to 3 tablespoons, and I prefer brown to white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This sauce is delicious. I tried it with meatballs and lit'l smokies and plan to try it with others as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I will be cooking this for the second time this evening, my 3 year old couldn't get enough and she is a infuriatingly picky eater. Only 1 change, and I did this the first time: replace the soy sauce with balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These were very good. Exactly what I expected. Sweet and tangy. I will make them again and expirament a bit by using brown sugar instead of white. I did bake them quite a bit longer because I wanted the sauce to get extra thick. Next time I will either use a little more corn starch or a little less water to get the sauce to more of a glaze consistency quicker. My 15mo old loved them as well. I used another meatball recipe from this website so that the meatballs weren't just plain hamburger...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Yummy! Loved how the tops of the meatballs turned golden brown in the oven - I made sure to drench them in sauce every few mintues so the tops didn't dry out. Added just a bit of honey as well to my sauce for added thickness...very good, will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLM584

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My family loved these meatballs! I even had requests to make them twice in the same week. I had read the reviews and cut back on the sugar, but other than that followed the recipe. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My husband and son like these but not that much. They weren't interested in the leftovers at all. I think it's a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These are delicious, but definitely cut back on the sugar unless you have a sweet tooth. I used brown sugar. Easy weeknight dinner with veggies and rice. Make sure your meatballs are close in size for even cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made my own meatballs (a family recipe), the sauce was simply delicious! I had to make a few slight modifications due to lack of ingredients. I substituted flour for cornstarch and used a bit of BBQ sauce to make up for the ketchup that i was missing. I found the sauce cooked down quite a bit, not leaving enough to put on the rice i served with the meatballs (however this could have been due to my substitutions). Other than that a great recipe, that i will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States