Oven Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
VERY sweet...I used half the sugar required and it was still a bit too much sweetness. But, a very easy-to-make recipe and an interesting variation to the usual sweet/sour or regular meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Good, but the sugar needs to be reduced to 3 tablespoons, and I prefer brown to white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This sauce is delicious. I tried it with meatballs and lit'l smokies and plan to try it with others as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I will be cooking this for the second time this evening, my 3 year old couldn't get enough and she is a infuriatingly picky eater. Only 1 change, and I did this the first time: replace the soy sauce with balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These were very good. Exactly what I expected. Sweet and tangy. I will make them again and expirament a bit by using brown sugar instead of white. I did bake them quite a bit longer because I wanted the sauce to get extra thick. Next time I will either use a little more corn starch or a little less water to get the sauce to more of a glaze consistency quicker. My 15mo old loved them as well. I used another meatball recipe from this website so that the meatballs weren't just plain hamburger...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Yummy! Loved how the tops of the meatballs turned golden brown in the oven - I made sure to drench them in sauce every few mintues so the tops didn't dry out. Added just a bit of honey as well to my sauce for added thickness...very good, will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLM584

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My family loved these meatballs! I even had requests to make them twice in the same week. I had read the reviews and cut back on the sugar, but other than that followed the recipe. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My husband and son like these but not that much. They weren't interested in the leftovers at all. I think it's a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These are delicious, but definitely cut back on the sugar unless you have a sweet tooth. I used brown sugar. Easy weeknight dinner with veggies and rice. Make sure your meatballs are close in size for even cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made my own meatballs (a family recipe), the sauce was simply delicious! I had to make a few slight modifications due to lack of ingredients. I substituted flour for cornstarch and used a bit of BBQ sauce to make up for the ketchup that i was missing. I found the sauce cooked down quite a bit, not leaving enough to put on the rice i served with the meatballs (however this could have been due to my substitutions). Other than that a great recipe, that i will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States