Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Just moved to Colorado from Hawaii. I made this for Office the Potluck. Everyone loved it. I would use more salt, and make in a water and liquid mixture (so the meat is more tender.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
OMG!!! Absolutely fantastic!! And you can't beat the price for butt pork....I made a 15 pounder for 12 people and still had leftovers...even after they tried to eat it all - - "best they've ever had!" I'll make it at future parties. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I loved it! I had to change the recipe since I accidentally purchased a 2.5 lb Pork Loin Center cut roast. I placed it in my crockpot after stabbing it with a knife and putting Kosher salt on it and placed about 1.5 Tbs. of hickory smoke flavoring on it (which I feared may have been too much so I poured off the excess after about a half hour). I left it for 8.5 hours on low and it turned out wonderfully despite my fears that it wouldn't. After about two hours I added a couple of Tbs. of peanut oil because I also feared the meat was too lean. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
WOW!!!!! I cooked a 4 lb roast and then mixed it with cooked cabbage (1 head for half of the roast)it's wonderful. Tastes exactly like the places that serve it here in San Diego. I used the mesquite flavor of Liquid Smoke and plain Sea Salt.. (added an extra dash of both) and when shredding it, added 2 tablespoons of the juices for extra flavor. Thank you Ruby, it's wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I still can't believe it was so easy to make this! I used regular sea salt and put it in my crock pot and it was absolutely amazing! My family gives this recipe a 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Pretty good. Not "fabulous" for us, but good. Used a Reynolds cooking bag instead of foil and that was handy. Meat definitely fell apart and was very moist! If you want to make gravy, you'll need to skim off the fat (our mistake - we didn't) to keep it from being too greasy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
So good! Serve on Hawaiian bread rolls. The whole family loved these little sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This came out great. My local butcher was only able to provide boneless pork shoulder, but it was really good. Left overs dissapeared rather quickly also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
We just weren't impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Being born and raised in Hawaii (now living in DC), my husband and I always keep an eye out for recipes that remind us of our time there. And, this one comes pretty close. Total prep time is a few minutes and clean up, because of the foil, is a breeze. Pork butt is also an inexpensive cut of meat. I've made this recipe using only Kosher salt (because sea salt wasn't available) and I've also used regular sea salt (as opposed to Hawaiian sea salt). If you decide to use Kosher salt, you may have to sprinkle a little more onto the cooked pork before serving. In the end, there's really no noticible difference. The Kalua pork is also VERY tender. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States