Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Oh my gosh!! I had never tried to cook anything like this and I have to say I was really surprised at how delicious this turned out. My family almost gave me a standing ovation (ok, maybe not) and I really have to say that I don't have to go to any expensive BBQ places anymore to get a wonderful pulled pork platter which by the way, you can only get one plate for the cost of the entire pork roast when you buy it and make it yourself. I was soooo happy with this recipe. THank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I love this recipe and have made it several times. The only thing I do differently with this recipe is use a little more liquid smoke and rub it in really well. After I shred it, I transfer it to a crock pot (with juices or it'll dry out) and take a can of pineapple rings (drain half the juices), pour it over the top and place a few rings on top. Nice presentation and adds a slightly sweet taste to the smokey flavor! Yum! Serve with a collection of BBQ sauces. A previous reviewer served it with mango chutney. I've gotta try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Everyone raved about this recipe, so I had high hopes. I thought it was OK, but nothing I would crave in the future. I found it to be WAY too salty, so the second time I made it I cut back on the salt and it was much much better. This goes great with the recipe on here for "Pani Popo" (Hawaiian coconut bread)...now THATS a recipe I do crave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
tender, moist... the outside was tasty but the inside needed more salt...making it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
OH MY GOSH!! No leftovers!! Used pork sirloin roast, because that is what I had. OH MY GOSH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I was so excited to try this recipe that I even ordered the Hawaiian sea salt on line so that it would be just right. But I was really disappointed in the way it turned out. The meat was tender and juicy, but very bland as if it had no seasoning at all. I ended up simmering the shredded meat in some of the juices from the pork as well as sauteed garlic, onion, salt and a touch of cumin, reducing the liquid completely. I then served it Mexican style in corn tortillas with verde salsa. After all this it ended up tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was absolutely FANTASTIC!!! I can't rave enough about it. It comes out SO tender and it has to be the easiest recipe that I have. Incredible! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was really good. We had a Luau party and this was the main course. Everyone really liked it. I had buns on the table if they wanted a sandwich or they could eat it just plain/no bun. It took just under 5 hours to make and I did add just a little water to the pan. Very Moist and Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Amazing!!!!!! Tastes just like when we had it in Hawaii! It was so easy to prepare.This has become the new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
so ONO!!! This was just like at home, we ate every last bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA
Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States