Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Ono! Tastes like it came right out of the imu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this for a Hawiian themed family dinner. I follewed the recipe exactly, although I did use my crock pot. It was very tasty although a little dry. I may add a more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This is an ok recipe. I have been living in hawaii for the past 6 years and have made oven kalua pork lots of time. You need to add minced garlic, minced ginger and soy sauce (as much as you think your family will like). Cook the pork as directed in this recipe. I add the sea salt after shredding the pork, because of the saltiness of the soy sauce. Then place in oven to combine the flavors. I got my recipe from a lovely Hawaiian grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Oh my gosh!! I had never tried to cook anything like this and I have to say I was really surprised at how delicious this turned out. My family almost gave me a standing ovation (ok, maybe not) and I really have to say that I don't have to go to any expensive BBQ places anymore to get a wonderful pulled pork platter which by the way, you can only get one plate for the cost of the entire pork roast when you buy it and make it yourself. I was soooo happy with this recipe. THank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I love this recipe and have made it several times. The only thing I do differently with this recipe is use a little more liquid smoke and rub it in really well. After I shred it, I transfer it to a crock pot (with juices or it'll dry out) and take a can of pineapple rings (drain half the juices), pour it over the top and place a few rings on top. Nice presentation and adds a slightly sweet taste to the smokey flavor! Yum! Serve with a collection of BBQ sauces. A previous reviewer served it with mango chutney. I've gotta try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Everyone raved about this recipe, so I had high hopes. I thought it was OK, but nothing I would crave in the future. I found it to be WAY too salty, so the second time I made it I cut back on the salt and it was much much better. This goes great with the recipe on here for "Pani Popo" (Hawaiian coconut bread)...now THATS a recipe I do crave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
tender, moist... the outside was tasty but the inside needed more salt...making it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
OH MY GOSH!! No leftovers!! Used pork sirloin roast, because that is what I had. OH MY GOSH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I was so excited to try this recipe that I even ordered the Hawaiian sea salt on line so that it would be just right. But I was really disappointed in the way it turned out. The meat was tender and juicy, but very bland as if it had no seasoning at all. I ended up simmering the shredded meat in some of the juices from the pork as well as sauteed garlic, onion, salt and a touch of cumin, reducing the liquid completely. I then served it Mexican style in corn tortillas with verde salsa. After all this it ended up tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was absolutely FANTASTIC!!! I can't rave enough about it. It comes out SO tender and it has to be the easiest recipe that I have. Incredible! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States