Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
i did the recipe 3 different ways one because i cant have much salt so i did it with just liquid smoke and a little salt next i did one the exact recipe and than i did one the same way except i wrapped it in a banana leaf and i have to say the one with the leave was so tender and fell off the bone. the others were good but the one wrapped was great i recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Shannon Doucet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I used this recipe because I liked the idea that it is cooked in the oven. I also used the advice of the review that said to add ginger and garlic, so I added both, but I used ginger powder because I didn't have any fresh and I also added a sprinkling of brown sugar...MMMMMM it was sooooo good!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
What an easy and great recipe! I cooked up 3 five pound pork roasts for a large group of people. The roast was tender and fell apart. I served the pork on Kaiser rolls with Oriental-Sesame cole slaw from this site. I also made up a batch of mango barbeque sauce to go with. The leftovers are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I served this on top of the Soft Onion Rolls from this site and some coleslaw. It felt like a summer barbecue retreat in the midst of a cold winter day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Every time I serve this dish I am asked for the recipe! I've had it several times while visiting Hawaii and this recipe is just as good if not better. I also love that it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Made this today and hubby and I both loved it!! I added an extra Tbsp. of liquid smoke and set the oven at 300*. It was perfectly cooked at 6 hrs. I was unable to find hawaiian rolls in 3 different stores so I ended up with kaiser rolls. I toasted them just a bit and we each added a sweet barbeque sauce on top of the pork. Served with homemade coleslaw and pickles. Will make this often. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zpoiled1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Ono! Tastes like it came right out of the imu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this for a Hawiian themed family dinner. I follewed the recipe exactly, although I did use my crock pot. It was very tasty although a little dry. I may add a more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This is an ok recipe. I have been living in hawaii for the past 6 years and have made oven kalua pork lots of time. You need to add minced garlic, minced ginger and soy sauce (as much as you think your family will like). Cook the pork as directed in this recipe. I add the sea salt after shredding the pork, because of the saltiness of the soy sauce. Then place in oven to combine the flavors. I got my recipe from a lovely Hawaiian grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Oh my gosh!! I had never tried to cook anything like this and I have to say I was really surprised at how delicious this turned out. My family almost gave me a standing ovation (ok, maybe not) and I really have to say that I don't have to go to any expensive BBQ places anymore to get a wonderful pulled pork platter which by the way, you can only get one plate for the cost of the entire pork roast when you buy it and make it yourself. I was soooo happy with this recipe. THank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States