Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I made this in the oven for a party I had with 30 guests. It cooked completely unattended, which was nice for me to entertain. The fat on the meat stays in place, so it's easy to remove vs. cooking in a crock pot where all the fat gets mixed in with the meat. I later added barbecue sauce to the leftovers to finish it up once we were tired of plain pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Okay, so I know it says "Oven Kalua Pork" but making this in the crockpot is the best way to go with this recipe. Use all the same ingredients and put in a crockpot on low for 8-10 hours and this is just like a taste of Hawaii!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I have been craving Kalua Pork for weeks and this totally hit the spot! I read most of the reviews and took all the suggestions. I doubled the liquid smoke and lemon zest; added ginger and garlic; and topped with sliced onions....MMMMMMM! Delicious! I used pork tenderlion (because that is what I had) and it came out awesome; it still fell apart and everything! Definately adding this to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
My husband and I both thought that this was VERY close to the "real deal", however, when I made it mine did not come out as moist/ greasy as it is when in Hawaii. Any ideas on how to get that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
FANTASTIC!!!! However I baked my in a tight-fitting casserole dish with about an inch of water. I was glad I checked on it early because it was at 200 degrees in about 3 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Being half Filipino, we make alot of these kinds of foods. Mine are more on the Polynesian type. My mother was taught this way too. I use a slow cooker and cook it all day long. It is awesome!Dont forget the garlic, I add onions too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti
Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Kids enjoyed it with BBQ sauce, Cam and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This stuff is great! I even forgot to put the salt on it before baking and it was still great. I did sprinkle a little more liquid smoke on the meat when it was shredded right before serving. We all loved this... even my 2 and 5 year olds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidiw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Came out okay, but not super flavorful either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I cooked it as the recipe stated. Maybe my oven runs hot (it is a new oven) but mine was done in only 2 hours. Had I let it cook the full 5 hours, it would have been burnt. It was also not really "shreddable," I ended up just chopping it. I add barbecue sauce because I think it's kind of bland otherwise. It comes out tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States