Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I LOVE this recipe...throw it in the oven around noon time and dinner is on the table at 5!! Serve with coleslaw.....yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I did this recipe a few years back for a luau and everyone of my guests was looking for the hole in the ground with the leaves and all that stuff. When I told them how I made it they were shocked. It tasted authentic. I have been hooked on it ever since. Very, Very good A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayechell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Yummy, yummy, yummy. I made this recipe with 2 1/2 lbs of pork and it cooked in 3 hours. I also used Red Sea Salt that I had left over from making the Kalua Pig recipe a while back, otherwise I didn't change the recipe, it was perfect. It has such a great flavor that you don't even need any bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is the basic recipe but a few changes will make a big difference for a more authentic result: 1. Use more Hawaiian salt. Two and a half Tbsp is not enough. It seems like a lot but it is not; 2. If you can get it, use the Alai salt (red clay salt). Remember, NOT to use table salt!; and 3. Line the foil pan with ti leaves. Not tea, but ti leaves. Use the liquid smoke. Then, wrap with foil. When you shred it, be sure to let it soak in the juices. You can use this same recipe to make pork fillings for tacos and bbq sandwiches, too. Of course, if you're from Hawaii as I am, eat with poi and lomi salmon! Onolicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I've made this several times, my family loves it! I'm now making it for a meal exchange I have with some neighbors. Such a cheap cut of pork you can't help but be generous. Easy to modify to your own taste as far as some of the additional seasonings go. And while you can bake it in a crock pot, it sorta changes the flavor and texture a bit. I happen to have lots of the Hawaiian red clay salt - which is out of this world for this recipe. If you don't have the ono salt be sure to use a large granule type salt. I like to pile it on top really thick and then remove it before I shred it - give the "illusion" of a healthier dish. I also recommend wrapping at least two layers of foil around the pork - I think it makes all the difference in the tenderness. (another reason the crock pot does not do quite as good a job - but still tasty) ALSO - the cooked meat freezes well too! Be sure to freeze it with some of the extra juices for when you reheat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aereish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I made this in the oven for a party I had with 30 guests. It cooked completely unattended, which was nice for me to entertain. The fat on the meat stays in place, so it's easy to remove vs. cooking in a crock pot where all the fat gets mixed in with the meat. I later added barbecue sauce to the leftovers to finish it up once we were tired of plain pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Okay, so I know it says "Oven Kalua Pork" but making this in the crockpot is the best way to go with this recipe. Use all the same ingredients and put in a crockpot on low for 8-10 hours and this is just like a taste of Hawaii!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I have been craving Kalua Pork for weeks and this totally hit the spot! I read most of the reviews and took all the suggestions. I doubled the liquid smoke and lemon zest; added ginger and garlic; and topped with sliced onions....MMMMMMM! Delicious! I used pork tenderlion (because that is what I had) and it came out awesome; it still fell apart and everything! Definately adding this to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
My husband and I both thought that this was VERY close to the "real deal", however, when I made it mine did not come out as moist/ greasy as it is when in Hawaii. Any ideas on how to get that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
FANTASTIC!!!! However I baked my in a tight-fitting casserole dish with about an inch of water. I was glad I checked on it early because it was at 200 degrees in about 3 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States