Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
This dish is absolutely amazing!!! We direct a week at a summer camp for kids. One of our theme meals was Hawaiian night and I gave this recipe to our cook to make for us. She followed the recipe as is, increasing the amounts to feed almost 100 people. It was unbelievably good and there wasn't a single scrap left. Will definitely be making this at home for our family soon! Thank you SO much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This was so easy and incredibly delicious. We cooked a 2 1/2 pound shoulder and it took 3 hours. Served with cornbread and avocado-red cabbage slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Very good recipe for basic pulled pork. Mix with salsa for barbacoa style or add BBQ sauce for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
easy-use less salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I did a test run of this recipe, before a luau party. I did not have liquid smoke, so I used 2 T. minced ginger, 3 minced garlic cloves, and 1 T. Hawaiian salt (for each roast) to rub all over the pork roast before wrapping (fat side up) tightly in heavy duty foil, and placing in a roaster. I roasted it at 300 degrees for 6 or 7 hours, 6 hours for a 5 pound roast (test run), 7 hours for two 7 1/2 pound roasts (party day), in separate pans. I used two forks to pull the pork into tender, delicious, juicy pork delight. Most of the guests asked for the recipe, it was that good. I did not add the extra salt after cooking; it was perfectly seasoned for our taste. I was surprised how juicy the meat was, since it releases a lot of juice to the pan. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I have a confession to make. I literally CRIED when I ate this. I made the recipe as described with all ingredients, except I slapped that puppy all wrapped up in foil into my slow cooker and left it for several hours. When I checked on it, the smell alone brought a tiny tear to my eye. The finished product opened the floodgates and I cried -- LIKE A BABY -- because it was so good. I have never been to Hawaii so I don't have the real thing to compare it to so for me, it WAS the real deal! Plus, my kid loved it which made me cry a little (inside, of course) as well since he's so dang picky. If I ever make it to Hawaii, I know what I'm hunting for. Forget the spam musubi my friends rave about, I'm looking for authentic kalua pork. WIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was excellent. Never ate or cooked this before. Followed the advice of others and shoved minced garlic and ginger in poked holes; doubled the smoke and wrapped in banana leaves then foil.Even cut back a smidge on salt and used soy sauce to rub all over. I cooked a 7.5 pound shoulder for 8.5 hours at about 310F in a water bath. Once done, I drained the fat and poured the juices onto the shredded pork. Enjoyed with Hawaiian bread, pineapple and coleslaw. OhMyGosh!!! Cannot wait for leftovers tonight! Thanks for the recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Absolutely, awesome !!! I went by the original recipe and wow! I grew up in Mississippi so I have eaten some pork. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmeowmeow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made this over the weekend. Along with the liquid smoke and sea salt, I rubbed the pork with some sesame oil to replace the earthiness usually provided by the banana leaves (as suggested by another reviewer) This was fantastic! Served with some creamy coleslaw. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knightcraft

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made it today. Yummy. Husband said to try putting cabbage inside the foil towards the end. My goodness what a lovely addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States