Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
love these! we make them all the time at our house, so easy. we don't usually use the sugar though just a little salt pepper and oil is good for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I have made it many times following the recipe exactly and it is great as is. Last night I made it to go with Maxwell St. style polish sausage sandwiches and I tweaked the recipe a bit and I actually enjoyed it more than before. I used 2 sweet potatoes, 4 russet potatoes, 2 teaspoons of olive oil, a good sprinkle of Lawry's seasoning salt, 1 tablespoon of white sugar, a nice sprinkle of cayenne pepper, put them on a cookie sheet coated with canola cooking spray, baked them at 450 for about 20 minutes, flipped them and baked them another 20 minutes, when I took them out to flip them I sprinkled them with kosher salt. They were delicious! I actually enjoyed the sweet potato fries more than I did the russet potatoes and so did my kids who usually don't like sweet potato fries. Yum! Thank you for a wonderful recipe that can be used as is or modified to your individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Best oven fries recipe we've tried. Had a little burn-on-the-bottom, might turn it down to 425 degrees next time. Used paprika instead of cayenne, which we were out of. One of the few dishes everyone has loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Such a simple recipe with so many good reviews, but it didn't work for me - not the results I was hoping for. I followed the ingredients and prep, but I think I may have messed up by not turning them over half way through cooking. Mine were not done at 30 minutes, so I cooked them another 10 minutes, which was way too long. They were pretty burnt, but yet didn't feel done with a toothpick. Then I steamed them for 2 minutes in the microwave, cut off the burnt ends & edges, but they just weren't what I thought they would be - But I admit that I should have turned them during cokking, so I'll give 3 stars...just won't be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good, easy recipe. A couple of minor changes I made were to omit the sugar (as I'm trying to make healthy choices), and to sprinkle fries with dried rosemary - gives the taters a very herbal, yummy taste:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Amazing oven fries. The sugar helps them brown and makes them nice and crispy. Mine stuck to the foil, even with the cooking spray, so I would reccommend flipping them every 10 minutes to prevent this. Very tasty recipe though! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These are awesome! Just the right amount of spice with the cayenne. I used more oil, just eye-balled it in the bowl, and baking time was more than 30 minutes for sure. After 30 mins I turned them, then continued baking for another 20, and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These didn't come out like I expected. They weren't crispy. Instead, they were burned on the bottom and soggy on top. :( I don't think I'll be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These are so delicious and easy! I used olive oil and dropped the temp to 425. I made them last week and my husband is asking for them again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very good, I've made this a couple times now and they come out perfect. Well, when I remembered to bake them on top rack (one time on bottom rack got burnt slightly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Duck Fat Steak Fries

Duck fat is the key to incredibly crisp baked steak fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States